Tyberton, HerefordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Tyberton, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Tyberton St Mary Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Dore PLU|
|Parish registers: 1672; For more records see Madley|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1670|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
TIBERTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dore, hundred of Webtree, county of Hereford, 9 miles (W.) from Hereford. The church, which is built entirely of brick, contains a fine carved altar-piece, representing the instruments of the Crucifixion. 
Tyberton was formed as a chapelry within Madley, Herefordshire Ancient Parish and rebuilt as a parish church in 1720, in the village and civil parish of Tyberton South Herefordshire. In some record sources the village may be found to be spelled as Tiberton but the civil parish is spelled Tyberton.
The Parish Church of St Mary Tyberton has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See Tyberton St Mary
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts
Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Tiberton
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
 to locate local Family History Centres in UK
 to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 355-357. Accessed and adapted 14 May 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2014, at 15:34.
- This page has been accessed 591 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki