Tydesley cum Shakerley, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Tydesley cum Shakerley, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tydesley cum Shakerley, Lancashire
Tyldesley St George's Parish Church.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Leigh PLU
Registration District Leigh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1825
Bishop's Transcripts: 1825
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccles
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Tydesley cum Shakerley was created a parochial chapelry in 1827 from, and lying within the boundaries of  Leigh, Lancashire Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Shakerley. TYLDESLEY, or Tyldesley cum Shackerley(St. George), a township and parochial district, in the union of Leigh, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 10 miles (W. by N.) from Manchester.There are places of worship for Wesleyans and the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Tydesley chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Leigh to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


TYDESLEY Chapelry (1829) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1826-1901  1829-1900 None
LOPC 1825-1901 1825-1938 1829-1901
LEIGH ST MARY'S PARISH (1558) Indexes (ancient parish containing TYDESLEY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1559-1872 1701-1845  1753-1857
LOPC 1700-1901 1560-1901 1660-1856 
FMP  None 1560-1624 None
LBMD None 1837-1950 None 
AC 1558-1700 1558-1700 1558-1700


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Tydesley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leigh to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEIGH PARISH page.


Tyldesley- St George
Baptisms-1825-1859- MFPR 196
Burials-1825-1855- MFPR 196
Marriages-1829-1837- MFPR 196
See also Tyldesley, Tyldesley Chapel

Tyldesley- Tyldesley Chapel (Leigh parish)
Baptisms-1825-1828- MFPR 1028
Burials-1826-1828- MFPR 1030

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers for Tydelesley cum Shakerley Microfilm of original records in the Wigan Record Office, Leigh, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, England.

Tyldesley was once a chapelry in the parish of Leigh.

The name of the church is St. George.

Baptisms, 1825-1895. FHL BRITISH Film 1885664
Baptisms, 1895-1900 (including some entries for 1901). FHL BRITISH Film 1885665
Marriages, 1829-1852. FHL BRITISH Film 1885666
Marriages, 1852-1900 (including some entries for 1901). FHL BRITISH Film 1885667
Burials, 1825-1900 (including some entries for 1901). FHL BRITISH Film 1885668


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306901.

Genealogy

Todd, A.A. Lord of Kearsley, Farnworth, Ainsworth, Bolton and Tyldesley. History and family tree of John Lord and Mary surname unknown, dating from 1724-1859, with the following surnames. Watson, Kay Taylor, Grundy, Pickering, Dixon, Thornley, Hardman, Bordman, Smith, Berry, Reece, Whittaker, Isherwood, Ratcliffe, Bowker, Bardburn. In another family tree of Joshua Lord, wife unknown, with family names Gregory, Smith, Whittaker, Halliwell, dating 1746-1831. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, Vol.8. no.3, pages 20-32 Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Leigh, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 407-411. Date accessed: 25 November 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 August 2014, at 20:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,030 times.