Tyrrell County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Tyrrell County

Guide to Tyrrell County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Tyrrell County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Tyrrell County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1729
County Seat Columbia
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Tyrrell Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Tyrrell County Courthouse
403 Main Street PO box 417
Columbia NC 27925
Phone: 252-796-2901

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913
marriage records 1862 and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records, probate records from 1730
and court records from 1900[1]

History

County seat history - Courthouse on Kendricks Cree (1751); Home of Bejamin Spruill (1774-1776); Courthouse on Scuppernog River (1777-1799); and present Columbia.

Parent County

1729--Tyrrell County was created from Bertie, Chowan, Currituck, and Pasquotank Counties.
County seat: Columbia [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Some of the early records are missing. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Nctyrrell.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Tyrrell County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Baptist
  • Morratuck Creek. Constituted 1791.[3]
  • Scuppernong River. Established by 1784.[3]
  • South Lancaster. Constituted 1793.[3]
Church of England
  • St. Andrew's Parish aka South Shore Parish. Established 1729.[4]

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

Newspapers

Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tyrrell County, North Carolina. Page 513 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:490; 2:569. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  4. Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), xxxiii. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 6,168 times.