Tywardreath, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Tywardreath, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tywardreath, Cornwall
Tywardreath Church St Andrew .jpg
Tywardreath Church St Andrew
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Austell PLU
Registration District St Austell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1642
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TYWARDRETH (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of St. Austell, E. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 3¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Fowey.[1]

The parish of Tywardreath <Ti War Dreth> which means "House or Manor on the Strand, or Beach" in Cornish, was identified in the Domesday Book (as Tiwardrai), but Bronze Age finds have been discovered in the parish.  

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.


Church records

Tywardreath, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
RW = RootsWeb - free[11]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[12]
Tywardreath, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1608-1812

COPC 1606-1911
1642-1907
1642-1922
FMP 1608-1875 1608-1837 1813-1837
FREG
1642-1812

FS PRs 1642-1889 1642-1907 1642-1887
IGI 1608-1875
PALL
1790-1812

RW 1608-1901
1710-1837

TGEN 1715-1841
1642-1812

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 242

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241268.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Austell Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites


St. Austell Genealogy and History
includes Free transcriptions of manorial records, wills, all BMDs for C. of E. and non-conformist
churches 1565 to 1900 in spreadsheet form, which helps researchers see alternatively spelled surnames more easily. There are also photographic "trips" through the parish, War Memorial transcriptions, indexes of directories from 1798 to 1873, Voters Lists 1850-1864, Protestation Returns, Poll tax and Hearth tax returns, etc.  Data is added regularly.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
    Cornwall Online Parish Clerks database (http://cornwall-opc-database.org
    Includes for Free all BMD data found on the site above, with some differences,
   Poll and Hearth tax returns, and Voter Lists.  Covers all of Cornwall, not one
   parish.

FreeBMD
       An index of all names from Registrar's data, starting in 1837 to this date,
    showing the location of the information so that researchers may order copies
    of certificates.

FreeCens
       Transcriptions of the 1841 through 1891 censuses, checked by 3 persons;
    searchable database.  All transcriptions include original misspelling, age 
    differences, etc. (they were transcribed as written, when the writing
    could be deciphered.)  Please try alternative spellings.

West Briton & Cornwall Advertiser Newspaper
       Searchable transcriptions of the newspaper, 1836 to 1887, which includes all  
    Court cases, news of the day,BMDs published in the paper, various advertisements, etc.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 407-411. Date accessed: 23 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  11. St. Austell Area Parishes - Genealogy', RootsWeb, accessed 26 November 2013.
  12. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:52.
  • This page has been accessed 1,091 times.