U.S. Virgin Islands CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png U.S. Census Gotoarrow.png U.S. Virgin Islands Gotoarrow.png Census

Contents

United States Censuses

U.S. Federal population schedules and indexes

Online U.S. Virgin Islands census indexes and images

Online U.S. Federal Population Schedules for the U.S. Virgin Islands
  Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay
Heritage Quest[1] Ancestry FHL ed.[2] Ancestry Library ed.[2] Ancestry Home ed.[2]
1940 indexes - - - -
images - Link Link Link
1930 indexes - Link Link Link
images Link Link Link Link
1920 indexes civilians Link military Link Link Link Link
images

civilians Link military Link

civilians Link military Link civilians Link military Link civilians Link military Link


Available on Microfilm

Federal census records on microfilm are available from the Family History Library and Family History Centers, and Regional Branches of U.S. National Archives.

1930. For a microfilm of the civilian populations schedules, see U.S. Virgin Islands, 1930 Federal Census: Population Schedules; NARA microfilm publications T626. (FHL film 2342402).</nowiki>

1920. For a Soundex index and population schedules for the U.S. Virgin Islands on microfilm, see U.S. Virgin Islands, 1920 Federal Census: Soundex and Population Schedules.

Danish Censuses

  • Statens Arkiver, Dansk Data Arkiv, "St. Croix Census Records" in Dansk Demografisk Database [Internet site] at http://www.ddd.dda.dk/soeg_stcroix.html (accessed 20 April 2009). Shows names, sex, age, address, census year, and sometimes relaitonships or occupations for 1850, 1855, 1857, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1890, 1901, and 1911.
  • Danmark, Rentekammeret (Vestindien), Census records, 1841-1911 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed for the Genealogical Society of Utah, [1965?]) [on 71 FHL films starting with 039199] Text in Danish and English. Danish Virgin Islands census schedules for 1841, 1846, 1850, 1855, 1857, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1890, 1901, and 1911.

Sources and Footnotes

  1. HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 May 2012, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 4,824 times.