Uckfield, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Uckfield, Sussex
Uckfield Holy Cross Sussex.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loxfield-Dorset
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Uckfield PLU
Registration District Uckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

UCKFIELD (Holy Cross), a market-town, a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of LoxfieldDorset, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 8 miles (N. E. by N.) from Lewes. The parish is bounded on the west by the river Ouse. The village is situated on an eminence, on the road from Lewes to London and to Tonbridge-Wells. The nave of the church was rebuilt in 1840 and a spire has been added to the tower. The Baptists and Wesleyans have places of worship.[1]

Uckfield Holy Cross was formed initially as a chapelry within Buxted, Sussex Ancient Parish and as an Ecclesiastical Parish in 1846.

A history of the churches Uckfield Holy Cross and St Saviour churches

The parish church of Holy Cross has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building

The church of St Saviour was formed from this parish in the 1960's

Uckfield Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Other places of worship in Uckfield include

Cemetery Chapel
Grange Evangelical Church
King's Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Methodist Church
Our Lady Immaculate & St Philip Neri (Roman Catholic) dated from 1885 demolished 1957 Rebuilt 1957-1961 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Rockhall Baptist
St Saviour (Anglican) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Strict Baptist
United Reformed Church
Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Ridgewood

See also:

Uckfield Wikipedia  list of places of worship in Wealden Wikipedia and  A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 411-414.  here 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Deposited parish Records held at East Sussex Record Office

The church was rebuilt by William Moseley in 1839 on the site of an earlier and smaller church, of which the tower and parts of the chancel walls were incorporated into the new structure. It is dedicated to the Holy Cross, and was extended in 1889.
Until 1846 the church was a chapel-of-ease to  Buxted, Sussex. It then became a separate parish with its own perpetual curate, who became a rector in 1865.
A chapel-of-ease, St Saviour, Framfield Road, opened in 1904 and was a temporary structure of wood and iron; it remained in use until 1971. A new building opened in 1972 in part of a block of flats for the elderly.
Contents:
INCUMBENT
PAR496/1/1 Early registers, 1530-1812
PAR496/1/2 Baptism registers, 1813-1994
PAR496/1/3 Marriage registers, 1813-1989
PAR496/1/4 Banns registers, 1931-1944
PAR496/ 1/5 Burial registers, 1813-1938
PAR496/2 Records relating to the parish registers and interments, 1747-2002
PAR496/3 Service registers, 1889-2000
PAR496/4 Buildings, 1741-1983
PAR496/5 Licenses, 1877-1962
PAR496/6 Income of the benefice, 1846-1950
PAR496/7 Incumbent's other records, 1831-1995
CHURCHWARDENS
PAR496/8 Rates, 1828-1871
PAR496/9 Accounts, 1704-1937
PAR496/10 Property, 1672 - [1951]
PAR496/11 Churchwardens' other records, c1815-1957
VESTRY
PAR496/12 Minutes, 1623-1940
PAR496/13 Other vestry records, 1852-1889
PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL
PAR496/14 Minutes, 1926-1993
PAR496/15 Accounts, 1931-1934
PAR496/16 Other Parochial Church Council records, 1915-1976
STATUTORY DEPOSITS
PAR496/21 Tithe, [1841] - 1932
PAR496/22 Railway records, 1852
PAR496/24 CHARITY, 1740-1994
PAR496/25 SCHOOLS, 1850-1976
PAR496/26 OTHER RECORDS, 1849-1913
PAR496/29 CONSTABLES, 1838-1841
OVERSEERS
PAR496/30 Rates, 1702-1834
PAR496/31 Accounts, 1704-1835
PAR496/32/1 Settlement certificates, 1699-1786
PAR496/32/2 Removal orders from parish, 1668-1786
PAR496/ 32/3 Removal orders to parish, 1697-1786
PAR496/32/4 Settlement examinations, 1735-1784
PAR496/33 Apprenticeship, 1653-1760
PAR496/34/1 Bastardy examinations, 1724-1770
PAR496/34/2 Warrants to arrest putative fathers, 1706-1782
PAR496/ 34/3 Bastardy bonds, 1680-1780
PAR496/34/4 Maintenance orders, 1724-1779
PAR496/35 Other settlement records, 1671-1783
PAR496/37 Other Overseers' records, 1697-1847
SURVEYORS
PAR496/39 Rates, 1837-1840
PAR496/40 Accounts 1724
PAR496/41 Other records, 1725
PAR496/43 OTHER CHURCH BODIES; 1905-1975

Uckfield Holy Cross records held at West Sussex Record Office
Bishop’s transcripts 1664-1883
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Uckfield

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

Poor Law Unions

Uckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 411-414. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,320 times.