Uffculme, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Uffculme, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Uffculme, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tiverton PLU
Registration District Tiverton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tiverton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Uffculme
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

UFFCULME (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Tiverton, hundred of Bampton, Collumpton and N. divisions of Devon, 4¾ miles (N. E.) from Collumpton. There are places of worship for Baptists and Independents. Bradfield Hall, in the parish, is a perfect ancient mansion, and to which a chapel was formerly attached.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Uffculme, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives.com (£)[4]
FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[5]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
UFFCULME PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1591-1695 (gaps)
1591-1673 (gaps)

BOYD
1538-1837

FAMR 1538-1837
FMP 1542-1915 1542-1915 1538-1915 1538-1915
FREG 1813-1916 1837-1926
IGI 1542-1837 1538-1753, 1783-1837
PALL 1790-1837
TGEN
1538-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241302.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish. Also, you can look at Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Uffculme

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 411-414. Date accessed: 05 November 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 19 February 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Devon Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Taken from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  5. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 02:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,992 times.