Ugley, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.pngEssex Parishes

Guide to Ugley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ugley, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clavering
County Essex
Poor Law Union Bishop's Stortford PLU
Registration District Bishop Stortford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ugley or Oakley (St Peter), is a parish in the district of Bishop-Stortford and county of Essex; it is 2 miles N of Stamford railway station, and 5½ miles NNE of Bishop-Stortford. The post town is, Bishop-Stortford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ugley, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

EOPC = Essex Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Ugley, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
EOPC 1813-1892
ESSEX 1559-1892 1559-1957 1559-1992
FREG 1558-1720 1558-1720
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.
  2. Essex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 4 September 2014.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,724 times.