Uinta County, WyomingEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Uinta County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wyoming Gotoarrow.png Uinta County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wyoming
Online Records


Uinta County, Wyoming
Map
Map of Wyoming highlighting Uinta County
Location in the state of Wyoming
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wyoming
Location of Wyoming in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 1, 1869
County Seat Evanston
Courthouse
Uinta County (WY) Courthouse.JPG
Address Uinta County Courthouse
225 9th Street
PO Box 810
Evanston, WY 82931
Phone: 307.783.0306
Uinta County Website


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
----*
1872*
----*
1861
1861
1872
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wyoming County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wyoming County Boundary Maps" (1848-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

  • Wyoming, Uinta, Almy - Cemeteries [1]
  • Bonnett, Elaine F [2]
Evanston 978.784/E1 v22e
Fort Bridger  1872-1992 978.784 V3r   1697953 item 4
Lyman  1872-1992 978.784 V3r   1697953 item 4
Millburne 978.784 V3r   1697953 item 4
  • “Cemeteries in Uinta Co. Wyoming” - Part 1, Fort Bridger Cemetery Book Transcript of Ft. Bridger, Lyman and Millburne Cemeteries – 1872-1992 Contributed for use in the USGenWeb  Archives March 24, 2003 by Heather Dodge hdodge@union-tel.com with permission from Project Coordinators: Patricia Robbins, Ruth Robbins, Susan Tippets

Census

For tips on accessing Uinta County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Almy, Evanston, Evanston 1st, Evanston 2nd, Evanston 3rd, Hilliard, Lyman, Millburne, Mountain View, Spring Valley


Wyoming, Uinta, Almy - Church records

Almy Ward Records

Court Records

  • Uinta County Courthouse
    225 9th Street
    Evanston, WY 82930-3473

    Mailing Address:
    P.O. Box 810
    Evanston, WY 82931-0810

The Uinta County Clerk and Recorder's office issues marriage licenses and maintains records of land transactions.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Uinta County, Wyoming. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wyoming Local Histories.

Land and Property

  • County land records are maintained by the County Clerk and Recorder's office.
  • The Family History Library has microfilmed deeds, mortgages, and chattle mortgages in the Uinta County Clerk's office beginning around 1872. Check the Family history Library Catalog for exact dates and film numbers. All the records have indexes.
  • Also check the Bureau of Land Management and General Land office website for land patents in this county at http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/.

Maps

Wyuinta.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Uinta County, Wyoming for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Uinta County, Wyoming newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Albany - Probate records.

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wyoming Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Uinta County Clerk and Recorder

County Clerk has marriage records from 1872, land records from 1870 and military discharge records from 1902.
Clerk Dis Ct has div and pro rec.[6]

Family History Centers

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Libraries
Museums
Societies
  • Fort Bridger Historical Association‎
    Fort Bridger, WY 82933
    307-782-7645‎

Taxation

Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Wyomong Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.


Birth
Marriage
Death

Web Sites

Places

Almy Beartown Elkhurst Lonetree Robertson
Altamont Bridger Evanston Lyman Spring Valley
Antelope Bridger Butte Fort Bridger Millburne Urie
Aspen Carter Hampton Mountain View Verne
Bear River Carter Cedars Hilliard Piedmont

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map IV" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap4.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  3. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  4. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Cherokee Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherokee_Trail (accessed 19 July 2011).
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 767. Uinta County, Wyoming

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 August 2014, at 01:05.
  • This page has been accessed 6,681 times.