Uley, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Uley, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Uley, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Berkeley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Dursley PLU
Registration District Dursley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1668
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dursley
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ULEY (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Dursley, Upper division of the hundred of Berkeley, W.division of the county of Gloucester, 2½ miles (E. by N.) from Dursley. The parish is situated on the road from Berkeley to Stroud and Cheltenham. [1]

Uley is located in the southern Cotswold Hills of Gloucestershire, about .  It is Historical information for Uley is given on the following web sites:

Neighboring Parishes

Resources

Church Records

Uley, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
ULEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1668-1812

FHSO 1800-1837
FREG 1668-1807 1668-1812 1670-1798
JOIN 1669-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Cemeteries

Civil Registration

From 1837 until 1946, Uley was in the civil registration district of Dursley.  Until 1852, Dursley was included in volume 11 of the national quarterly registers.  Beginning in 1852, it was in volume 6A.  These records are indexed online.  See England Civil Registration.

Parish Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288761.

Probate Records

Before 1858, Uley was under the probate jurisdiction of the ecclesiastical Court of the Bishop of Gloucester.  Beginning in 1858, it was under the jurisdiction of the civil Gloucester Probate Registry.

The records for 1541-1858 are indexed online in the Gloucestershire Genealogical Database.  Once you have searched the index, return to the Wiki and go to the article on the Court of the Bishop of Gloucester for information on obtaining the records.

Original records are deposited at the Gloucestershire Archives

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 414-418. Date accessed: 12 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  4. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' Joiner's Marriage Index, accessed 29 January 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Bibliography

Genealogy and History Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2014, at 21:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,448 times.