Umatilla County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Umatilla County

Guide to Umatilla County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Umatilla County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Umatilla County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 27, 1862
County Seat Pendleton
Courthouse
Address Umatilla County Courthouse
216 SE 4th Street
Pendleton, Or 97801-2590
Phone: 541-276-7111
Umatilla County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1862. [1]

Umatilla County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Umatilla County Court House as of August 2010.

Umatilla County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

  • Record Loss:

Historical Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Umatilla County, Oregon

27 September 1862: Umatilla county was created from Wasco County. [2]

Named after the Umatilla River. The name Umatilla is derived from the Native American name for the river, which was first recorded as Youmalolam in the journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.

Boundary Changes

14 October 1864: Grant

16 February 1885: Morrow County set off.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Adams | Athena | Echo | Helix | Hermiston | Milton-Freewater | Pendleton | Pilot Rock | Stanfield | Ukiah | Umatilla | Weston

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Cayuse | Gopher Flats | Holdman | Kirkpatrick | Meacham | Mission | Ordnance | Riverside | Tutuilla

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Defunct Post Offices

Albee

Indian Reservation

Umatilla (Confederated Tribes of Umatilla - specifically Sahaptin-speaking Cayuse, Umatilla and Walla Walla tribes)

Neighboring Counties

Grant | Morrow | Union | Wallowa | Washington counties: Benton | Columbia | Walla Walla

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Land and Property

History

Maps

Orumatilla.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Umatilla County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

The Family History Library has copies of some records such as:

Umatilla County record of deaths 1907-1929, certificates of death 1913-1944

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Umatilla County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Umatilla County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  3. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 September 2014, at 19:02.
  • This page has been accessed 5,371 times.