Union County, Arkansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Union County, Arkansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Union County

Guide to Union County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Union County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Union County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 2, 1829
County Seat El Dorado
Courthouse
Address Union County Courthouse;
101 N Washington
El Dorado, AR 71730
Phone: 870.864.1910

Contents

County Courthouse

Union County Courthouse;
101 N Washington
El Dorado, AR 71730
Phone: 870.864.1910


County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1846; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Union County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1847 1914* 1830 1830 1839
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1829--Union County was created 2 November 1829 from Hempstead and Clark Counties. County seat: El Dorado [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ashley  • Bradley  • Calhoun  • Claiborne Parish, Louisiana  • Columbia  • Morehouse Parish, Louisiana  • Ouachita  • Union Parish, Louisiana  •

Union CountyColumbia CountyNevada CountyOuachita CountyBradley CountyCalhoun CountyDrew CountyBossier ParishJackson ParishAshley CountyUnion ParishClark CountyLafayette CountyMorehouse ParishLincoln ParishOuachita ParishRichland ParishClaiborne ParishCleveland CountyWebster ParishARUnion.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Union County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Union County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Census

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1839-1927 Union County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1868-1923; Administration, executor and guardian bonds; wills 1845-1927; Letters of administration 1868-1924; Letters of guardianship 1869-1923; Probate records 1839-1889.

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Union County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Union County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Union County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[4]
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dockery's) (Confederate)


Korean War
War of 1812
Indian Wars

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Union County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

  • Probate Records 1839-1927 Union County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1868-1923; Administration, executor and guardian bonds; wills 1845-1927; Letters of administration 1868-1924; Letters of guardianship 1869-1923; Probate records 1839-1889.

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records 
Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Union County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Union County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Union County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Union County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Union County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Calvin L. Collier, They'll do to tie to : the story of the Third Regiment, Arkansas Infantry, C.S.A. (Little Rock, Arkansas : Civil War Round Table Associates, 1988), p. 10. FHL Collection
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2015, at 20:13.
  • This page has been accessed 15,082 times.