Union County, KentuckyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kentucky
Union County
| Union County, Kentucky | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Kentucky | |||||||||
![]() Location of Kentucky in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | January 15, 1811 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Morganfield | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Kentucky county in the Western Coal Fields region.
Union County Kentucky Courthouse
| | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| | |||||
Union County Courthouse
PO Box 119
Morganfield, KY 42437
Phone: 270.389.1334[1]
Union County Kentucky History
Parent County
1811--Union County was created 15 January 1811 from Henderson County.
County seat: Morganfield [2]
Boundary Changes
Webster county was formed in 1860. Some portions were taken from Union County.
Records from before 1860 in areas that became part of Webster county are still maintained at the Union County courthouse in Morganfield.
County Pronunciation
Record Loss
Union County Kentucky Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Arnold | Curlew | Hazel | Saint Vincent |
| Blackburn | Dekoven | Henshaw | Spring Grove |
| Bordley | Flournoy | Hitesville | Sturgis |
| Boxville | Givens | King Mills | Sullivan |
| Breckinridge Center | Grangertown | Morganfield | The Rocks |
| Caseyville | Grove Center | Mulfordtown | Uniontown |
| Chapman | Hamner | Pride | Waverly |
| Cullen | Harding | Raleigh | Yuba |
Neighboring Counties
- Crittenden
- Gallatin County, Illinois
- Hardin County, Illinois
- Henderson
- Posey County, Indiana
- Webster
Union County Kentucky Genealogy Resources
African American Research
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US)
- Kentucky Minorities has information specific to Kentucky African Americans.
- the KY African American Griots Project ~ The Kentucky African American Griots Project
- Sandi Gorin's Tips ~ Hangings in Kentucky 1792 - 1900
Biographies
- KY Biographies ~ Jeff Murphy's Kentucky Biographies Project
Cemeteries
Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
- Kentucky Historical Society Cemetery Search can be searched by name, place and/or date. This database has hundreds of thousands of names transcribed from gravestones across Kentucky.
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Union County and links to the information for the individuals buried there,
- Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net
- Union Co. KY USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Union County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- ePodunk list of Union County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
- GNIS search results for Union County, Kentucky cemeteries
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- The KY Historical Society’s Cemetery Database
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- Naming the Forgotten ~ Naming the Forgotten - The Eastern State Hospital Project
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 3,470 | — |
| 1830 | 4,764 | 37.3% |
| 1840 | 6,673 | 40.1% |
| 1850 | 9,012 | 35.1% |
| 1860 | 12,791 | 41.9% |
| 1870 | 13,640 | 6.6% |
| 1880 | 17,809 | 30.6% |
| 1890 | 18,229 | 2.4% |
| 1900 | 21,326 | 17.0% |
| 1910 | 19,886 | −6.8% |
| 1920 | 18,040 | −9.3% |
| 1930 | 17,053 | −5.5% |
| 1940 | 17,411 | 2.1% |
| 1950 | 14,893 | −14.5% |
| 1960 | 14,537 | −2.4% |
| 1970 | 15,882 | 9.3% |
| 1980 | 17,821 | 12.2% |
| 1990 | 16,557 | −7.1% |
| 2000 | 15,637 | −5.6% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Union County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
Church
USGS GNIS search results for Union County, Kentucky churches
Census
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Kentucky Census Transcriptions 1850 - 1930
- The USGenWeb Census Images ~ The USGenWeb Census Images Project
- Kentucky Census Transcriptions ~ The USGenWeb Census Project
- Census Online ~ Census Online
Church
- Kentucky Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in the Diocese of Lexington
- Catholic Parishes in the Archdiocese of Louisville
Court
- Abstracts of Early KY Court Cases Abstracts of Early Supreme Court Cases ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
- Kentucky Court of Justice Research & Reference
Genealogy
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
- [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp
- [Blackwell] Hardy, Stella Pickett. Colonial Families of the Southern States of America. New York: Tobias A. Wright, 1911. Digital version at Google Books - free.
- [Chapman] "A Brief History of the Chapman Family of Frederick County," Frederick Findings, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Winter 1988):42-43. FHL Book 975.59 D25f.
- [Gilkey] Gilkey, Kenneth Edward. Gilkeys of Early Kentucky 1780-2000: This Book Focuses Primarily on William Gilkey of Caldwell Co., Ky. and His Descendants and His Brothers, David Gilkey of Union County, Ky. and John Gilkey of Nelson Co. Ky. and Their Descendants. Newburgh, Ind.: K.E. Gilkey, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 G397g
Land
Local Histories
- Archives of Appalachia ~ Preserving the history of the people of Appalachia.
Maps
Military
- Military Resources ~ Revolutionary War through Civil War
- Korean War Memorial Korean War Memorial for Soliders from KY ~ KYGenWeb
- Fallen Soldiers in WWI from KY ~ Fallen Soldiers in WWI from Kentucky
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Union County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Union County, Kentucky:
- - 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Companies C, D, F, and H.
Miscellaneous
- KY Postcards Kentucky Postcards ~ The USGenWeb Archives Penny Postcard Project
- The KYGenWeb Footsteps ~ The Kentucky Footsteps Archives ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
Newspapers
- Kentucky News - Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Another Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Kentucky Newspapers on Microfilm - Kentucky Newspapers Available On Microfilm
Obituaries
- KY Footsteps Archives ~ KY Footsteps List Archives - thousands of obituaries here ~ KYGenWeb Project
- KY Obituary Sources ~ Kentucky Obituary Sources ~ Compiled by the KYGenWeb Project
- Links to research and locate obituaries
- Browning Genealogy Database ~ The Browning Genealogy Database - A Collection of Obituaries Compiled by Charles Browning.
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Kentucky Obituary Project
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Kentucky Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
- Nashville Advocate ~ Death Abstracts from the Nashville Christian Advocate
Probate
- 1811-1941 - Will Books A to H (1811-1941) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
- 1852-1859 - Union County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C518031 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1874 - Union County Birth Index 1874. Batch C518032 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1875 - Union County Birth Index 1875. Batch C518033 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
- 1854-1862 - Union County Marriage Index 1854-1862. Batch M518031 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1875-1876 - Union County Marriage Index 1875-1876. Batch M518034 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1878 - Union County Marriage Index 1878. Batch M518035 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Unsorted
- The Kentucky Vital Records Project Transcriptions of and Images of KY Death Certificates - A Work in Progress ~ The KY Vital Records Project
- KY Births & Christenings ~ Kentucky Births and Christenings, 1839-1960 Family Search
- KY Deaths & Burials ~ KY Deaths & Burials 1843 - 1970
- KY Marriage Records ~ KY Marriages 1783 - 1979 ~ Family Search
- Searchable KY Vital Records ~ Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths & Marriages
- Kentucky Marriage Records 1973 - 2000 ~ Kentucky Marriage Records - 1973 - 2000
- KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records 1973 - 1993 ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases
- The Social Security Death Index The Social Security Death Index - Searchable
Union County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Union County Kentucky Genealogy Websites
- KYGenWeb project. Has maps, name indexes, history or other information for each county. Select the county.
- State of Kencucky Website
- USGenWeb Kentucky Archives ~ Kentucky in the USGenWeb Archives ~ Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- Family History Library catalog for Union County: Family History Library Catalog
- Union County, Kentucky Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Union County Kentucky Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, Kentucky page 275, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 March 2013, at 22:08.
- This page has been accessed 3,281 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


