Union County, New JerseyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New Jersey Gotoarrow.png Union County

Union County, New Jersey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New Jersey_Online_Genealogy_Records New Jersey
Online Records


Union County, New Jersey
Map
Map of New Jersey highlighting Union County
Location in the state of New Jersey
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Jersey
Location of New Jersey in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1857
County Seat Elizabeth
Courthouse
Address Union County Courthouse
2 Broad Street

Elizabeth, NJ 07207-2204
Phone: (908) 527-4966
Union County Website

Contents

Union County, New Jersey Historical Facts

Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.

Parent County

  • 9 March 1857, created from Essex County. [1]

Boundary Changes

  • 1860, received part of Woodbridge twp., Middlesex County as part of Rahway twp.
  • 1871, Essex County boundary clarified
  • 1871, Plainfield boundary with Piscataway twp. of Middlesex County changed
  • 1876, boundaries with Essex and Somerset counties clarified
  • 1882, Essex County boundary clarified and again in 1892
  • 1891, part of Millburn twp., Essex County to Springfield twp. and returned in 1958.

For animated maps illustrating New Jersey county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Jersey County Boundary Maps" (1683-1928) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in New Jersey counties see: New Jersey Counties with Burned Courthouses

Union County, New Jersey Genealogy Resources

Bible

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Migration

Military

  • Goodwin, Aaron. "The Elizabeth-Town Associates: Signatures on the Original Answer, 1751," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 138, No. 3 (Jul. 2007):189-198. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 138.

Civil War Template:VACiv

- 83rd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Union County, New Jersey newspapers in online catalogs like:

Courtesy of the Plainfield Public Library:

Occupations

Periodicals

Poorhouse, Almshouse

Probate Records

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Union County, New Jersey Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Union County, New Jersey Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page New Jersey Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

Obtaining Copies of County Probate Records

Copies of recorded probate records and the estate files can be obtained from the surrogate's offices for a fee. Addresses of surrogate's offices are found in:

  • Eichholz, Alice, Editor. Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. Revised Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry, 1992. (Family History Library book 973 D27rb 1992.) Explains state-by-state history, vital records, census, background sources, periodicals, archives, libraries, societies, maps, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records. Includes county boundary map and table which shows when each county was created and the parent counties.

In addition, copies of the original wills, administrations, inventories, and guardianships sent to Trenton since 1901 can be ordered from:

Clerk of the Superior Court
Records Information Center
P.O. Box 967
Trenton, NJ 08625-0967
Phone: (609) 292-4978
Fax: (609) 777-0094

Repositories

Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Union County,  New Jersey
Archives
Courthouse

Union County Courthouse
2 Broad Street
Elizabeth, NJ 07207-2204
Phone: (908) 527-4966

County Clerk has land records from 1857 and military discharge records from 1941. Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1848 and court records. County Surrogate has probate records from 1857. Town Clerks have birth and death records. [1]

Family History Centers
Libraries
Plainfield Public Library
800 Park Avenue
Plainfield, NJ 07060
Telephone: 908-757-1111
The Local History Department offers newspapers, city directories, local histories, church records, biographies, and more.
Museums
Societies

Schools

Taxation

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Union County, New Jersey Web Sites

Union County, New Jersey Neighboring Counties

Njunion.jpg


Union County, New Jersey Genealogy References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:23.
  • This page has been accessed 8,416 times.