Union County, New MexicoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Union County

Guide to Union County New Mexico genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New Mexico_Online_Genealogy_Records New Mexico
Online Records


Union County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 23, 1893
County Seat Clayton
Courthouse
Address Union County Courthouse
200 Court Street PO Box 430;
Clayton, NM 88415
Phone: 505.374.9491
Union County Clerk's Website
Nm-union.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Union County New Mexico Courthouse.jpg
Union County Courthouse
200 Court Street PO Box 430;
Clayton, NM 88415
Phone: 505.374.9491 

County Clerk has marriage records from 1894, probate, court and land records; District Court Clerk has divorce records.[1]

Parent County

  • Up until 1821 New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • From 1821 until 1846Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
  • 1848 Land that became Union County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.

1893-- Union County, New Mexico was created 23 February from Colfax, Mora, and San Miguel counties.[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Geography

Towns and Villages

Populated Places

  • Amistad Capulin,
  • Clayton
  • Des Moines
  • Folsom
  • Gladstone
  • Grenville
  • Hayden
  • Mount Dora
  • Sedan
  • Seneca
  • Sofia
  • Stead

List of Union County Place Names


A-E
F-L
M-R
S-Z

Historic or Ghost Towns

  • Airolo
  • Alps
  • Amboy
  • Apache
  • Atencio
  • Barney
  • Beenham
  • Capulin
  • Centerville
  • Codorniz
  • Corrumpa
  • Cuates
  • Dead Man
  • Devoy
  • Dolores
  • Emberson*
  • Emery Gap
  • Exter
  • Frampton
  • Garcia
  • Gem
  • Grande
  • Grandview
  • Gregory
  • Grenville
  • Guy
  • Harrington
  • Hayden
  • Holland
  • Hope
  • Ione
  • Johnson
  • Kephart
  • Kimball
  • Leighton
  • Louis
  • Madison
  • Malpaiz
  • Mansker
  • Miera
  • Moses
  • North Desmoines
  • Otto
  • Patterson
  • Pennington
  • Penrith
  • Pleasant
  • Sampson
  • Santander
  • Sierra Grande
  • Smith
  • Sofia
  • Spring Hill
  • Staunton
  • Stonehaven
  • Tate
  • Telesfora
  • Thomas
  • Towanda
  • Tramperas
  • Travesilla
  • Valley
  • Vance
  • Vargas
  • Veda
  • Wanette
  • Willow
  • Willow Springs

Interactive Map, Town Details Historic Post Offices; All Post Offices
List of Place Names
A-E,
F-L,
M-R,
S-Z
List of Historic Places of Union County, National Register

Towns or Places with Name Changes

The Older name will be listed first and generally followed by the more current name.

1. Capulin = Dedman = Capulin

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Search by Name
Amistad Cemetery, Antioch Cemetery, Brown Cemetery, Burchard Cemetery,  Capulin Cemetery, Centerville Cemetery, Clayton Cemetery, Clayton Memorial Cemetery, Corrumpa Cemetery, Creeds Chapel Cemetery, Dempsey Cemetery, Des Moines Catholic Cemetery, Des Moines Cemetery, Drew Cemetery, Fairmount Cemetery, Fairview CemeteryFolsom Catholic Cemetery, Folsom Cemetery, Garcia Plaza Cemetery, Giles Cemetery, Gladstone Cemetery, God's Acre Cemetery, Grandview Cemetery, Grenville Cemetery, Hardesty Cross L Ranch Cemetery, Hayden Cemetery, Hereford Park Ranch Cemetery, Independent Order of Oddfellows Cemetery, Knollwood Cemetery, La Morada Cemetery, Maplewood Cemetery, Martinez Cemetery, Moses Cemetery, Newkirk Family Cemetery, Obar Cemetery, Ojo Bonito Cemetery, Ojo del Pinaveta Cemetery, Old Clayton Cemetery, Otto Cemetery, Padilla Cemetery, Pedernal Cemetery, Perschbacher Ranch Cemetery, Pleasant Hill Cemetery, Puertocito Cemetery, Rinker Cemetery, Rivera Cemetery, Sanchez Cemetery, Sedan Cemetery, Shaha Cemetery, Sofia Cemetery, St. Joseph Catholic Cemetery, Thomas Cemetery, Wanette Cemetery, YL Bar Ranch Cemetery

Search by location
Amistad, Capulin, Centerville, Clayton, Des Moines, Folsom, Gladstone, Grenville, Hayden, McNees Crossing, MieraObar, Pennington, Sofia, Thomas.

Census

For tips on accessing Union County, New Mexico census records online, see: New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Union County, New Mexico. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

List of Settlers, 1880

     1. Upper and Lower Dry Cimarron , click here

Online information about Pioneers and Settlers listed by surname

      1. A-E   2. F-L  3. M-R   4. S-Z

Maps

Nmunion.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Finding More New Mexico Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Union County, New Mexico newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.

Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office

Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court

Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.

See also How to order New Mexico Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for New Mexico Birth Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of New Mexico Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, New Mexico page 475, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:49.
  • This page has been accessed 15,246 times.