Union County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow-kelly.png Oregon Gotoarrow-kelly.png Union County

Guide to Union County Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Union County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Union County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 14, 1864
County Seat LaGrande
Courthouse
Address Union County Courthouse
1106 K Avenue
LaGrande, Or 97850
Phone: 541-963-1006
Union County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1875,
and naturalization records 1900-1975.
Clerk CircuitCourt has divorce, probate and court records from 1854. [1]


Union County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Union County Court House as of October 2005.

Union County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

Union was the former county seat until after 1 February 1901.

Historical Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Union County, Oregon

14 October 1864: Union county was created from Baker County. [2]

Named for the city of Union which is located within the boundaries, a county seat at the time of the creation of the county.

  • Records Held at the Courthouse

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Union County Court House as of October 2005.

  • Record Loss:

Boundary Changes

11 February 1887: Wallowa County was set off.

1 February 1901: Southeast portion of Union known as the Panhandle was annexed to Baker County by the order of the State Legislature.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

LDS Cemetery Records

Vol. 21 page 177 - Lower Cove Cemetery, Alical

Census

  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orunion.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Union County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:

  • Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]

Military

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Union County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  3. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:37.
  • This page has been accessed 6,490 times.