United Pueblos Indian Agency (New Mexico)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indian Research Gotoarrow.png Indians of New Mexico Gotoarrow.png United Pueblos Indian Agency (New Mexico)


Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Navajo, Pueblo

History

The United Pueblos Agency was established 1 August 1935 by consolidation of Southern Pueblo Agency, Northern Pueblo Agency, Zuni Agency, Albuquerque Indian School, Santa Fe Indian School, and the Albuquerque Sanatorium[1].

Records

Some records for the United Pueblos Agency are in the National Archives Rocky Mountain Region (Denver),[2] including:

  • School census records, 1936-1961
  • Census rolls of New Mexico Pueblos, 1941-1963
  • Tribal enrollment records, 1945-1959
  • Land grants, 1945-1959
  • Other correspondence, administrative and fiscal records, 1933-1976

Microfilm copies of ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the United Pueblos Agency, 1937 only, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, Roll 161[3], available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (their microfilm number 1724379).

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1936-1937 and 1939. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 624 thru 627[4]. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 583083-583086). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

Other Records Available Through the Family History Library

Vital Records Birth and Death records, 1919-1944 FHL Film: 1266698 Items 9-10

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, pp. 188-189.
  2. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  3. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Micropcopy M1011, p. 27.
  4. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M595, p. 51.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
  • "Accompanying Pamphlet for Microcopy 1011", National Archives Microfilm Publications, Appendix.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 January 2011, at 07:30.
  • This page has been accessed 859 times.