University of ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Colorado Archives and Libraries Gotoarrow.png University of Colorado

The University of Colorado, first organized in 1876, is a public university system with three campuses: Boulder, Colorado Springs, Denver and the Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora. The Boulder campus, created first, is the flagship of the system.

Contents

University of Colorado – Boulder

The Norlin library has old yearbooks from 1932 to 1994 in the open stacks. They have local history information and they also refer people to the Boulder Public Library.

University Library

File:320px-Old Main - Colorado.jpg
1720 Pleasant Street
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309
Libraries Information 303-492-8705
Research Assistance 303-492-7521
Archives 303-492-7242 reflib@colorado.edu

Archives

The CU Boulder archives have the collections of interest to genealogists. For example, they have the student newspapers, old admission records, local histories, directories, old business, union, and hotel records, and a few genealogy manuscripts, and the papers of George Norlin.

View the titles of holdings at this link:
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/archives/collections/genealogy.htm

Come in person to the archives to see these records—it’s best to call first. There are charges for paper or photo duplication. For distant patrons, the archives will do one very brief search free. Thorough searches require more time. The archives can give you a list of student researchers that you can contract with directly, or for more expert assistance, contact the Boulder Genealogical Society (http://www.bouldergenealogy.org/bgs/wordpress/) , or the Colorado Genealogical Society (http://www.cogensoc.us).

Photographs

The archives have a portrait collection for faculty, administrators, and a few students – taken mostly from 1945 to the early 1970s.

Another important photographic collection is the negatives from the Charles Snow studio in Boulder. He specialized in portrait photography, but there are some landscapes as well. This collection dates from 1917 to 1970, and some of the oldest negatives are beginning to show some deterioration.

Census and Territorial Census

Among the census records held in these archives is microfilm of territorial census records of some New Mexico counties taken prior to 1860.

Yearbooks

In addition to the yearbooks in the Norlin Library, Ancestry.com ($) has yearbooks for the following years available to browse: 1893, 1903, 1904, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1917, 1919, 1920, 1921, 1922, 1924, 1925, 1926, 1927, 1928, 1929, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1934, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1942, 1943, 1944, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1954, 1956, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970.

University of Colorado – Colorado Springs

University Library

Kraemer Library UCCS.jpg
Colorado Springs Kraemer Family Library Call: 719-255-3295

Archives

“The Archives of the University of Colorado Colorado Springs (UCCS Archives) will identify, collect, organize and preserve materials that document the history and operations of the Colorado Springs campus and will facilitate their use for purposes of research and scholarly pursuits.”


Archives can be reached at http://www.uccs.edu/archives

Their collections are found at http://uccs27-px.rtrk.com/archives/collections.html

The UCCS archives have a copy of the only yearbook ever published for this campus 1971. They have all the student newspapers from 1966 to the present, but these are not indexed. The faculty and staff publication for this campus has online issues from January 2010 to present: http://communique.uccs.edu/

Local History - Not Part of UCCS

Also in Colorado Springs is the Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum – “the only institution researching, collecting and interpreting the robust history of Colorado Springs and the Pikes Peak region.” http://www.cspm.org/

Another excellent resource for local history is the Pikes Peak Regional Library. Special Collections contains extensive resources for research into the history of the Pikes Peak region, including books, maps, manuscripts and archives, photographs, oral histories, films, government documents, periodicals and much more.
http://ppld.org/regional-history-and-genealogy-home

University of Colorado – Denver, Anschutz Medical Campus

The Denver and Aurora campus has never published a yearbook. They do have a student newspaper and the previous issues are in the archives in Auraria. These are not indexed, nor digitized; they can only be viewed in person. This is a student club publication and there is very little biographical information.

This library generally refers people interested in genealogy to the excellent collection at the Denver Public Library.

University Library

Auraria Library 303-556-2740
1100 Lawrence St
Denver, CO 80204

Center for Colorado and the West

“Since 2009, projects sponsored by the Center for Colorado & the West at Auraria Library (CC&W) have advanced understanding of Rocky Mountain history. The Center's signature approach engages tri-institutional students in preserving history and creating knowledge. This website makes available biographies, site histories, unique digital research collections, Colorado book reviews, and educational video productions.”
303-556-4587
http://coloradowest.auraria.edu/


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 July 2014, at 20:52.
  • This page has been accessed 529 times.