Up Nateley, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Up Nateley

Guide to Up Nateley, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Up Nateley, Hampshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Basingstoke
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Basingstoke PLU
Registration District Basingstoke
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695; For more records see Basingstoke
Bishop's Transcripts: 1782
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Basingstoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NATELEY, UP (St. Stephen), a parish, in the union and hundred of Basingstoke, Basingstoke and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 2½ miles (W. by N.) from Odiham. [1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Up Nately parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[7]
UP NATELY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1695-1750

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG
1754-1812

GENUKI
1697-1698

JOIN
1695-1750

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288792.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 366-368. Date accessed: 03 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 2 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  6. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,195 times.