Upleatham, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Upleatham

Upleatham, Yorkshire
Upleatham old Church Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Guisborough PLU
Registration District Guisbrough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Upleatham St Andrew is the Ancient parish church of Upleatham. It remains as small chapel after retention as a mortuary chapel in the 1836 formation of a new parish church in the village.

The later church is now redundant and occupied as a private residence.

Upleatham Redundant church Yorkshire.jpg

UPLEATHAM, a parish, in the union of Guisborough, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 2½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Guisborough; containing, with part of the township of Redcar, 329 inhabitants, of whom 209 are in Upleatham township.There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Upleatham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
UPLEATHAM ECCLISIASTICAL PARISH (1654) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1724-1876
1724-1859
None
JOIN None
1654-1837
None
AC None
None
None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Upleatham and comprising the whole ancient parish of Upleatham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Upleatham page.

Upleatham is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1786 from chapelry in Guisborough, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464233.

Poor Law Unions

Guisborough Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 418-420. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 15:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,130 times.