Upnor St Philip and St James, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent

Guide to Upnor, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Lower and Upper Upnor are two small villages in the Frindsbury Extra civil parish on the Hoo Peninsula in the Medway district of Kent. Upnor Wikipedia and Frindsbury Extra Wikipedia Hoo Peninsula Wikipedia

Upnor St Philip and St James was formed from Frindsbury, Kent Ancient Parish in 1878.All Saints Church Frindsbury Wikipedia

See Upnor St Philip and St James


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Upnor St Philip and St James, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[2]
Upnor St Philip and St James, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1878-1890, 1903-1907


MED 1878-1983 1878-1955

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  2. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:29.
  • This page has been accessed 729 times.