Upper Beeding, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Upper Beeding, Sussex
Upper Beeding Priory St Peter and St Paul West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Burbeach
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1544
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEEDING (St. Peter), a parish, partly in the union of Steyning, and partly in that of Horsham, hundred of Burbeach, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex; comprising Upper and Lower Beeding. The church consists of a nave and chancel separated by a screen, with a low embattled tower at the west end, and seems to have had formerly a south aisle, as there are two arches remaining in the south wall. An alien priory of Benedictine monks was founded about 1075.[1]

Beeding St Peter is an Ancient Parish which includes Baybush ( sometimes Bewbush) King's Barns and Holmbush. The village and civil parish of Upper beeding is a modern name change, the settlement was referred to as Beeding and is in the Horsham district of West Sussex. The ecclesiastical parish of Beeding St Peter is within the civil parish of Upper Beeding.

Church history Upper Beeding St Peter

The church has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

Upper Beeding Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) Upper Beeding Mission Hall see List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

See also Upper Beeding Wikipedia  list of places of worship in Horsham district

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Upper Beeding, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Upper Beeding, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1544-1901
1548-1900
1546-1901

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Beeding, Upper

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 194-199. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,029 times.