Upper Dicker Common, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Upper Dicker Common, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upper Dicker Common, Sussex
Upper Dicker Holy Trinity East Sussex.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dill; Longbridge; Shiplake
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Hailsham PLU
Registration District Hailsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DICKER (Upper), a village in Arlington parish, and a chapelry in Arlington, Chiddingly, and Hellingly parishes, Sussex. The village stands near the river Cuckmere, 2½ miles NNE of Berwick railway station, and 3 W by N of Hailsham. The chapelry bears the name of Upper Dicker Common.[1]

Upper Dicker Holy Trinity was formed in 1843 as an Ecclesiastical district mainly from Arlington, Sussex  but also parts of Hellingly, Sussex and Chiddingly, Sussex and in 1857 became an Ecclesistical parish.The civil parish of Arlington includes the enclosure of the former Common and village of Upper Dicker and is in the Wealden district of East Sussex.

A history of the church Upper Dicker Holy Trinity

See Simon Carey's history of the area Arlington and Upper and Lower Dicker

Upper Dicker Sussex online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Arlington Wikipedia for the history of the village and civil parish. list of places of worship in Wealden Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Hailsham registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex,The Register Office, Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Upper Dicker Common, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Upper Dicker Common, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1893


IGI 1844-1882 1856-1893

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Dicker Common, Upper

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Hailsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,141 times.