Upper Holloway St Peter, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Upper Holloway St Peter, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

HOLLOWAY, a district, in the parish of Islington, Finsbury division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 3 miles (N.) from London. Holloway is ecclesiastically divided into the district parish of St. John, and the district chapelry of St. James, independently of which a small portion is attached to the chapel of St. Mary, Islington. The further increase of the number of inhabitants in the parish having rendered the erection of three new churches advisable, one dedicated to St. John was built at Upper Holloway. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Scottish Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:

St Peter, Upper Holloway was one of approximately 50 district churches designed and built during the 1830 to 1900 time period--all within the civil parish boundaries of St Mary Islington. St Peter was among the churches built in the late 1800s and was established by the year 1880, laying within the parish of St Mary Islington.

(See Islington St Mary Magdalene for a complete list of churches and chapels within the ancient parish of St Mary.)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438780.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Holloway in Islington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 19:49.
  • This page has been accessed 816 times.