Upper Tean, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Upper Tean, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upper Tean, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Cheadle PLU
Registration District Cheadle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Uttoxeter
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Upper Tean is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1844 from Checkley, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Lower Tean.

TEAN, UPPER, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Checkley, union of Cheadle, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 2½ miles (S.) from Cheadle. The Independents and Wesleyans have places of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Upper Tean Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
UPPER TEAN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1845-1856


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1843-1917 Mar 1845-1981 Bur 1844-1943
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts None held


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.

Poor Law Unions

Cheadle Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-314. Date accessed: 07 November 2012.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,448 times.