Upper and Lower Bullinghope with Grafton, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Upper and Lower Bullinghope with Grafton, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upper and Lower Bullinghope with Grafton, Herefordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Webtree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hereford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Upper Bullinghope or Upper Bullingham
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BULLINGHAM, a parish, in the hundred of Webtree, union and county of Hereford, 2 miles (S.) from Hereford. This parish comprises 1679 acres, of which 705 are in Upper Bullingham; it is bounded on the north by the river Wye, and is intersected by the road from Hereford to Ross. [1]

GRAFTON, a township, in the parish of All Saints, Hereford, hundred of Webtree, union and county of Hereford; and comprising an area of 428 acres. [2]

References in record sources to the villages of Lower Bullingham and Grafton may refer to Old Bullingthorpe Church or Bullingham Old Church. Immediately to the South of Hereford are the civil parishes:

Lower Bullingham is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire Lower Bullingham Wikipedia

Grafton is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire Grafton Herefordshire Wikipedia

John Harnden The Parish Registers of Herefordshire, J Harnden, 1987, ISBN 0 95123 47 0 6 explains that Hereford St Martin, Herefordshire parish included Grafton and Lower Bullingham until 1866 and included Blackmarstone and Putson and that the church was destroyed in 1645 and only rebuilt in 1845. For this period the parish was annexed to Hereford All Saints, Herefordshire however many entries especially for Lower Bullingham and Grafton are found in the registers of Bullingham.

The parish church of St Peter Grafton, Bullingham Lane, Grafton which dates from 1880 has been designated as a grade II listed Building British listed building  The English Heritage listing text describes a drawing of the Old Bullinghope church reported as being about 1830. The listing also mentions that in the past St Peter has been referred to as being in Bullingham parish probably due to the adjacent parish of Lower Bullingham.

The ruins of the Church of St Peter, Bullingham Lane, Grafton are those of the old parish church replaced by the 1880 building and have been designated as grade II listed and are scheduled as an Ancient monument County number 130 under the name Bullingham Old Church British listed building

Colin Hinson's transcription of the 1868 National Gazetteer refers to Grafton in the entry for Hereford, see GENIUKI

England Jurisdictions 1851 refer to Upper and Lower Bullinghope with Grafton as being an Ecclesiastical parish formed in 1747 from Bullingham chapelry and part of Hereford All Saints, Herefordshire

Herefordshire Churches refers to Bullinghope St Peter

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

The Parish history contains description of the possible record sources and references to parish records for a number of parishes which may contain records of relevance to the are of South Herefordshire around Grafton and Lower Bullingham.

References within the Family History Library microfilm records will therefore appear under several headings:

Parish registers for Upper Bullingham, 1682-1933 Baptisms, marriages and burials 1682-1764. FHL BRITISH Film
992640 Item 8
Baptisms, 1796-1918; marriages, 1754-1837; banns, 1825-1885; banns and marriages, 1754-1813, marriages, 1813-1837, burials, 1796-1933. FHL BRITISH Film 1040326 Items 1 - 6

Bishop's transcripts for Upper Bullingham, 1697-1881"Bullinghope is also known as Upper Bullingham.Records for 1867-1881 include records from Lower Bullingham and Grafton" . These filmings at the Diocesan Record Office are cross referenced to Upper/ Lower Bullingham

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

In view of John Harnden's description of the parish registers ( see parish history above) it is advisable for the researcher to consult other parish records dependent on period and to reflect that citation of the relevant register needs to include the complexity of the naming variations of this area south of hereford and parish annexation after the loss of church.

Census records

See Herefordshire Census

Census returns for Upper Bullingham 1841-1891

Census returns for Grafton 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901

Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 428-431. Accessed and adapted 22 May, 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 322-325. Accessed and adapted 22 May, 2013.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,457 times.