Upperthong, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Upperthong)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Upperthong

Guide to Upperthong, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Upperthong, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Huddersfield PLU
Registration District Huddersfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1848
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THONG, UPPER, an ecclesiastical parish, and a township, in the parish of Almondbury, union of Huddersfield, Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 6¼ miles (S.) from Huddersfield. There are places of worship for Independents and Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Upperthong exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2][3][4]
FS = FamilySearch.org
UPPERTHONG ECCELESIASTICAL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1846-1910 1846-1910 1848-1935 1848-1935 1848-1934 1848-1934
FS 1846-1910
1848-1916
1836-1930

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Upperthong and comprising the whole ancient parish of Upperthong to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Upperthong page.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1677.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464244.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above. England > Yorkshire > West Riding > Treeton


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 328-330. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  4. 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,426 times.