Uppingham, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.png Rutland Parishes

Guide to Uppingham, Rutland ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Uppingham, Rutland
St Peter & St Paul Uppingham Rutland.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Martinsley; Wrangdike
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Uppingham PLU
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office



Contents

Parish History

UPPINGHAM (St. Peter and St. Paul), a markettown and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Martinsley, county of Rutland, 6 miles (S.) from Oakham, and 89 (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]


The Victoria County History of Uppingham (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]


UPPINGHAM, a small town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Rutland. The town stands 3 miles SSW of Manton r. station, and 6 S of Oakham. There are four dissenting chapels.[3]

Additional information:

The grammar-school was founded in the time of Elizabeth; was rebuilt in 1863, at a cost of £40,000; has a chapel in the decorated English style, built in 1865, at a cost of nearly £6,000; includes accommodation for from 250 to 300 boarders; holds two scholarships of £70 a year each, and three exhibitions at the universities; had Archbishop Manners Sutton, Bishops Ferne and Bramston, and Lord Chancellor Manners for pupils; and has, in connexion with it, an hospital-charity for decayed tradesmen, widows, and others. Pop. of the town, in 1861, 2,176. Houses, 392.—The parish comprises 1,210 acres. Real property, £.9,201; of which £140 are in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 2,068; in 1861, 2,186. Houses, 397. The manor belonged to the Montforts; passed to the Beauchamps, the Cecils, the Greys, and others; and belongs now to the Earl of Gainsborough. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Peterborough. Value, £661.Patron, the Bishop of P. Jeremy Taylor was rector.—The sub-district contains 12 parishes. Acres, 19,007. Pop., 5,356. Houses, 1,080.—The district includes also Barrowden and Great Easton sub-districts, and comprises 52,698 acres. Poor rates, in 1863, £6,179. Pop. in 1851, 12,719; in 1861, 12,367. Houses, 2,626. Marriages in 1863, 73; births, 371,-of which 35 were illegitimate; deaths,. 259, -of which 100 were at ages under 5 years, and 7 at ages above 85. Marriages in the ten years 1851-60, 756; births, 3,920; deaths 2,206. The places of worship, in 1851, were 31 of the Church of England, with 6,817 sittings; 4 of Independents, with 818 s.; 9 of Baptists, with 1,161 s.; 1 of Quakers, with 60 s.; 8 of Wesleyans, with 895 s; 2 of Wesleyan Reformers, with 186 s.; 2 undefined, with 380 s.: and 1 of Latter Day Saints, with 30 s. The schools were 18 public day-schools, with 1,170 scholars; 39 private day-schools, with 554 s.; and 37 Sunday schools, with 1,971 s.

Jeremy Taylor (15 August 1613 – 13 August 1667) was a clergyman in the Church of England who achieved fame as an author during the Protectorate of Oliver Cromwell. He is sometimes known as the "Shakespeare of Divines" for his poetic style of expression and was often presented as a model of prose writing. He is remembered in the Church of England's calendar of saints with a Lesser Festival on 13 August.
He was under the patronage of William Laud, Archbishop of Canterbury. He went on to become chaplain in ordinary to King Charles I as a result of Laud's sponsorship. This made him politically suspect when Laud was tried for treason and executed in 1645 by the Puritan Parliament during the English Civil War. After the Parliamentary victory over the King, he was briefly imprisoned several times.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Uppingham, Rutland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
UPPINGHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1571-1656, 1748-1753

FREG None None 1813-1837 None None None
IGI 1707-1812 1571-1656, 1707-1812

Deposited records are found at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office.

Diocese of Peterborough :  Uppingham Bap 1571 - 1927 Marr 1571 - 1968 (Banns to 1993) Bur 1571 - 1984

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Uppingham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  3. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Rutland, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,108 times.