Upton, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Upton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upton, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Haytor
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipplepen
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

UPTON St Mary Magdalene was constituted a district church in June 1848 and the building was designed by Anthony Salvin, and built by Jacob Harvey and his sons, the church was consecrated on 12th April 1849. There was a burial ground surrounding the church, with the first internment on 11 February 1850. This church contains memorials to Rev William Scoresby, who was an eminent Arctic Explorer and scientific philosopher. He was a curate of the church and lived in Torquay for many years He is buried in the churchyard.[1]

A Gazetter entry from John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales describes it in this way.

MILTON (SOUTH), a village and a parish in Kingsbridge district, Devon. The village stands near the coast, 3 miles WSW of Kingsbridge r. station; and was anciently known as Middleton. The parish contains also the hamlets of Sutton and Upton. Post town, West Alvington, under Kingsbridge.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Published By: Groundspeak Premium Member Marine Biologist
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 05 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,038 times.