Upton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Upton, Nottinghamshire
Upton St Peter&St Paul Nottinghamshire.jpg
Upton St Peter&St Paul Nottinghamshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1633
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Southwell
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


UPTON, a parish, with a village, is in Southwell district, of Notts; 2 miles E of Southwell railway station. It has a post-office under Southwell, and contains Southwell workhouse. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Additional information:

Upton St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient parish in the Newark and Sherwood District of Nottinghamshire.

The parish Church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Upton Newark and Sherwood Wikipedia

This parish should not be confused with Headon cum Upton, Nottinghamshire elsewhere in the county and diocese

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Upton St Peter and St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
UPTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1585-2007 Marriages 1580-2007 Burials 1580-1987 Bishop's Transcripts 1633-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Upton

Bailey, Brian. Misterton Scrapbook. The Scrapbook mainly concerns Methodism and was possibly compiled by James Stothard of Misterton, a farmer. He included the Gainsborough (Wesleyan Methodist) circuit which included West Stockwith, Misterton, Beckingham, Walkeringham, Sturton and Bole with a list of members, some starting as early as 1817. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 793/1. Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 121, pages 73-88 with an alphabetical listing. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Upton. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1702, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS  19/32 and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, page 29, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Upton in GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 19:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,289 times.