Upton Noble, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png; Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Upton Noble, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bruton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Shepton Mallet PLU
Registration District Shepton Mallet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1754
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

UPTON-NOBLE, a parish, in the union of SheptonMallet, hundred of Bruton, E. division of Somerset, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Bruton.[1]



Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Upton Noble, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
Upton Noble, Somerset PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1677-1743, 1813-1887
1680-1737, 1848-1885
1677-1743, 1825-1855
MARR
1750-1837

Census records

 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474594.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 1 May 2014.
  4. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 16:27.
  • This page has been accessed 674 times.