Upton in Overchurch, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Upton in Overchurch

Guide to Upton in Overchurch, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

UPTON, is a village and a parish in Wirrall district, Cheshire. The village stands 4 miles West of Birkenhead railway station; and has a post-office under Birkenhead. The parish is sometimes called Over-church.[1]

Upton (Overchurch), St. Mary is the ancient parish church for Upton by Birkenhead in the Wirral Hundred of Cheshire.

Upton was listed in the Domesday Book of 1086 as Optone and was written as being in the possession of William Mallbank. Upton was the primary economic centre of northern Wirral until the industrial development of Birkenhead during the mid-19th century.

Upton was a township and parish in the Wirral Hundred, which included the nearby hamlet of Overchurch.

There is evidence of a church building at Overchurch from about 600 AD. A Runic Stone was discoverd at Overchurch dating between 700-900 AD. The stone invited people to 'pray for Aethelmund'.

There followed a Norman church which was damaged by storms and destroyed by a fire in 1813.

A small chapel existed on Greenbank for a few years before the accerating growth of population prompted the need for a larger church building.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241254.

Church records

Upton in Overchurch, Cheshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[2]
UPTON IN OVERCHURCH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN
1600-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Upton (Overchurch), St. Mary (C of E). The ancient parish church for the township of Upton. Registers of Baptisms 1759–1936, Marriages 1755–1941 and Burials 1759–1837 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office, where Bishop's Transcripts survive from 1600. Microfilm copy of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Upton parish is also known as Overchurch.Cheshire Record Office call number: P155/1, 2/1-2, 3/1-5, 4.

Parish register content FHL Film
Burials, 1755-1812. Baptisms, 1755-1936. Marriages, 1755-1920. BRITISH 2105378 Items 11 - 15
Marriages, 1921-1941. Burials, 1813-1937. BRITISH 2105391 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Upton, 1600-1892

Bishop's transcripts content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1609-1610, 1613, 1615, 1617-1625, 1634-1635, 1656, 1667-1672, 1674-1676, 1680, 1682, 1684, 1691, 1694, 1699-1702, 1711, 1714, 1716, 1719-1724, 1726-1737, 1741, 1744, 1746-1747, 1749-1750, 1752-1754, 1756, 1759, 1762-1781, 1783-1789, 1791-1814, 1825-1831, 1833-1834. Baptisms, 1835, 1836, 1837-1838, 1851, 1845-1849, 1868-1871, 1873-1892. Burials, 1836, 1869-1872. BRITISH 1751485 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

  •  Upton, St. Joseph (Roman Catholic). Founded 1863.
  •  Upton, Presbyterian Church, Ford Road. Built in 1898.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records of St. Joseph's Catholic Church, Upton, 1914-1940 Microfilm copy of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 28/5473/1. Mostly Latin.

Baptisms, 1914-1940. VAULT BRITISH Film 2197776 Item 2

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837–1937)

Poor Law Unions

  • Wirral

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Bibliography

"Set upon a hill- The story of St.Mary's Church and Parish, Upton, Wirral"by Robert Pullen and Kenneth Burnley. Eaton Press Ltd, Wallasey, Wirral.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,415 times.