UrmstonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Urmston, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

URMSTON, a township, in the parish of Flixton, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 5½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Manchester; containing 771 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records 

There are some online transcriptions for Urmston St Clements Chapelry and as well for the ancient parish of Flixton baptisms, marriages and burial registers. Displayed below are those links to available online data located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPC='' 'Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FindMyPast
LBMD='' 'Lancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk

 

URMSTON ST CLEMENT Chapelry (1868) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1907-1910 1907-1921 None
LOPC 1868-1906 None None
LBMD None 1868-1877 1837-1948
FLIXTON PARISH (1570) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials 
FS 1570-1833 1570-1935 None
LOPC 1845-1894 1837-1916  None
AC None None None

Original Records

Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston PR1 2RE, United Kingdom.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306898.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 424-428. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 October 2012.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 708 times.