User:Ccsmith/sandbox/MainPage2Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki


FamilySearch
Wiki

Genealogical Research Help

Main Page
About the Wiki
Wiki Tools
Research Process
Research Help


Volunteer

Submit Wiki Content
Community Center
Family History Centers
Community Meetings
Community Council
Societies and Libraries
Adopt a Page
Personal Sandbox
Manual of Style
Guiding Principles


Views


Toolbox


Personal tools



  • Main Page
  • Talk
  • Read
  • View History
Search
Middle EastEuropeAsiaAustralia and OceaniaAfricaNorth AmericaCentral AmericaSouth AmericaWorld Map V.2.png
About this image

Welcome to the FamilySearch Research Wiki


Get genealogical research advice, or learn where to find record collections in our 79,599 articles


New to Genealogy?

How to Get Started on Your Quest

Tabs9.jpg
  • The first step is always to start with yourself, but before you begin, you need to decide where you are going to preserve you genealogy?
  • Preserve your genealogy by opening a free account on FamilySearch.org. Click here to register.
  • FamilySearch gives you access to your genealogy and the ability to enter new information from any computer in the world.
  • Other family members can have access to it as well on their computers.
  • Not only is your genealogy reserved forever, but you can preserve photographs, documents, journals, stores and memories so they are not lost to time or natural disaster.
  • You can also print any of the genealogy or memories you have enter for family and friends who may not have a internet access.

First Step - Lets Begin With You

  • After you have opened your account, go to the Family Tree.
  • When the pedigree chart opens you will see you name in the first box on the left.
  • Click on your name and begin by entering your information in the appropriate places about yourself.

Did You Know ....

Downloaded4700947383004445443 Richland+Family+History+Center+interior.JPG
  • There are over 4600 Family History Centers world wide and researching is free.
  • You can adopt a Page help add content.
  • You can attend Contributor meetings and work with others around the world.
  • We can create a page for your genealogical society or library in the Wiki for the world to see.
  • The FamilySearch Wiki is in 10 other languages?

New to the FamilySearch Wiki?

Spy - J I Thornycroft.jpg

The FamilySearch Wiki is not about finding the names of your ancestors.  It is not, in fact, about finding people at all.  The Wiki is about finding records that may have been generated about your ancestors and the places in which the records might be found. It is a vast record depository of the paper trail that people leave behind long after they are gone. The Wiki has records from the United States as well as from 244 countries.  Here you will be able to find documents such as census records, marriage records, birth records and death records and much more. Probate documents are often very informative and may help you in your search.  There is an extensive list of United States military records on the wiki .

to read more ...

Get Envolved

Volunteers - Help Us Build the Wiki

Barn Raising.jpg

Like a barn raising, the Research Wiki can only be built by an involved community. Communities naturally include individuals with different levels of expertise. Share what you know!

Help us by:

  • Expanding existing articles
  • Creating new articles
  • Adding sources
  • Linking to other online resources
  • Correcting grammar and spelling mistakes
  • Combining duplicate articles.

Whatever your level of expertise, the wiki needs you!  Come join the wiki barn raising team.
To read more..............

Today's featured article

Union Pacific Railroad

In 1869 the Union Pacific Railroad out of Omaha, Nebraska, and the Central Pacific Railroad out of Sacramento, California linked tracks in the Golden Spike ceremony at Promontory Summit, Utah to form the first transcontinental railroad service in the United States.[1] Settlers were attracted to communities near railroads because they provided access to markets. Railroads encouraged settlement along their routes to help increase the need for their service. If an ancestor settled near a railroad, you may be able to trace their place of origin back to another place along the tracks.

Historical Background

In order to bind the nation together from California to the eastern states visionaries proposed a railroad between the west and east coasts of the United States. During the Civil War Congress authorized the building of this railroad. Congress offered land grants along the tracks in a checkerboard pattern as an incentive to the builders. The company that could build the most track would receive the most land.

Other areas of FamilySearch


Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found
  • This page was last modified on 8 April 2014, at 22:11.
  • This page has been accessed 816 times.