User:Dsammy/Sandbox3Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about an eastern upstate New York county in the United States. For other uses, including other similarly named localities, see Albany.

Coordinates: 42.65°0′N 73.78°0′W / 42.65°N 73.78°W / 42.65; -73.78

Albany County, New York
Map
Map of New York highlighting Albany County
Location in the state of New York
Map of the U.S. highlighting New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1683
Parent County Original County
County Seat Albany
Courthouse
Ny-albany-ch.jpg
Address Office of Albany County Clerk
32 N Russell Road
Albany, NY 12206-1324
Website: www.albanycounty.com

United States Gotoarrow.png New York Gotoarrow.png Albany

Contents

Bible Records

Biography

  • George Rogers Howell, Jonathan Tenny, and John H. Munsell, History of the County of Albany, N. Y., from 1609-1886: with Portraits, Biographies and Illustrations, Bi-centennial History of Albany (Microreproduction of original published: New York: W. W. Munsell, 1886).
Vol. 1 Google Books digital copy.
Vol. 2 Google Books digital copy.
Vol. 3 At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Film 1000231.
Vol. 4 Google Books digital copy.

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information. See the New York Cemetery page for further details.

Online Grave Transcripts Printed Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories
findagrave.com Family History Library findagrave.com
interment.net WorldCat Tombstone Transcription Project
Cemetery Site   RootsWeb
New York Gravestones   Catholic Diocesan cemeteries
RootsWeb    


-1900-2002 Jewish People's Cemetery
-1850- 2001 Temple Israel, Sons of Abraham, Ohav Sholom Cemetery
-1894-2002

Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

Federal

Colonial or State

Source 1720 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Family History Library - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
FamilySearch Historical Records - - Yes Yes Yes Yes - -
New York State Library - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Ancestry.com - - - - - - Yes -
RootsWeb Yes - - - - - - -

County

Church Records

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information and are most often found on a local city, town or community level. For more information, see New York Church Records.

General

Dutch Reformed

Lutheran

Presbyterian

Quaker

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records has church records on microfilm in their Historical Records for towns and cities in Albany County 1683–1932 for the following churches:

  • Albany First Lutheran 1794-1932
  • Albany First Presbyterian 1785-1841
  • Albany Methodist 1806-1884
  • Albany Saint Peter's Episcopal 1756-1883
  • Albany Second Presbyterian 1815-1870
  • Albany State Street Presbyterian 1859-1883
  • Berne Lutheran 1790-1875
  • Berne Reformed Dutch 1763-1877
  • Bethlehem First Reformed 1794-1924
  • Coeymans Reformed Protestant Dutch 1846-1877
  • Delmar Reformed 1848-1899
  • Guilderland Center Dutch Reformed 1794-1925
  • Jerusalem Reformed 1842-1890
  • Knowerville Lutheran 1785-1868
  • New Salem Dutch Reformed 1786-1899
  • Reformed Dutch of Albany 1683-1809
  • Unionville Dutch Reformed 1825-1932
  • West Sand Lake Lutheran 1785-1868
  • Wynantskill Reformed 1794-1889

For details on these church records see the town or city wiki page.

Court Records

Original court records for Albany County are held in the office of the County Clerk See New York Court Records for more information about using court records.

Copies of Original Records

Abstracts

Crime and Criminals

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records (ACHOR)has County Sheriff/Jail records from 1825 to 1967 in their Historical Records. These records include Criminal Records books; inmate booking ledger; inmate commitment books; and registers of inmates, prisoners, and female prisoners. The ACHOR also has Albany Police department's History of Arrests from 1865 to 1940 on microfilm.

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Genealogy

  • Jonathan Pearson, Contributions to the Genealogies of the First Settlers of the Ancient County of Albany from 1630 to 1800 (Albany, N.Y.: J. Munsell, 1878).
-Internet Archive digital copy.
-WorldVitalRecords index
-RootsWeb index A-B only

Gazetteers

  • 1870-71 Hamilton Child, Gazetteer and Business Directory of Albany and Schenectady Co., N. Y. for 1870-71. (Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms International - Books on Demand, 1989). At various libraries(WorldCat) FHL fiche 6072149

History

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Albany County, New York
At the time of creation it included all of the present Bennington County, Vermont, all of New York state north of the counties of Dutchess and Ulster, and theoretically stretched west to the Pacific Ocean.[1]
City of Albany, New York

Parent County

Albany County was one of the original twelve counties created by the British Province of New York on 1 November 1683.[2]

Boundary Changes

  • 27 May 1717: Albany County was adjusted to gain an indefinite amount of land from Dutchess County and other non-county lands.
  • 7 October 1763: King George III, King of England, as part of his proclamation, created new province of Quebec, implicity setting the northern limit of New York at the parallel of 45 degrees north latitude, from Atlantic-St.Lawrence watershed westward to the St. Lawrence River, but it was never mapped.
  • 20 July 1764: King George III established the boundary between New Hampshire and New York along the west bank of the Connecticut River, north of Massachusetts and south of the 45th parallel. Albany County implicitly gained present-day Vermont. Disputes broke out later and the dissatified colonists organized in opposition which led to the creation of Republic of Vermont in 1777 (lasted until Vermont joined in the American Revolutionary War.)
  • 13 July 1766: Cumberland County was partitioned from Albany County, covering all northern and eastern limits of the county, including what is now Windsor County, most of Windham County and parts of Bennington and Rutland counties in Vermont.
  • 26 June 1767: Albany County regained all of Cumberland County.
  • 19 March 1768: the county was repartitioned and Cumberland County restored.
  • 16 March 1770: the county was partitioned again to create Gloucester County (which includes all of present-day Orange, Caledonia and Essex counties, most of Washington County, parts of Orleans, Lamoille, Addison and Chittenden counties in Vermont.
  • 12 March 1772: Albany County was partitioned again, into Albany, Tryon (now Montgomery) and Charlotte (now Washington) counties.
  • 24 March 1772: a partition of 50 sq miles was handed over to Cumberland County.
  • 9 March 1774: Ulster County was set off from Albany County.
  • 1 April 1775: a partition of 60 sq miles was handed over to Charlotte County who then exchanged a like parcel with Cumberland County.
  • 15 January 1777: 300 square miles was lost to the Republic of Vermont.
  • 26 January 1781: Bennington County, Vermont attempted to annex a portion of Albany County (today's portions of Washington and Rensselaer counties) to form "The West Union." The Confederation (before there was the US Constitution) arbitrated this annexation, and condemned it, with Vermont ceasing the attempts on 23 February 1783.
  • 4 Apr 1786: Columbia County was set off.
  • 7 March 1788: New York refusing to recognize the independence of Vermont, with Cumberland County eliminated, tried to adjust the line that separated Cumberland County from Albany in present-day Vermont, but to no effect.
  • 7 February 1791: Rensselaer and Saratoga counties were set off. On the same day, town of Cambridge was transferred to Washington County.
  • 1 January 1795: Schoharie County was set off.
  • 5 April 1798: Ulster County took 90 sq miles to add to it.
  • 25 March 1800: Greene County set off.
  • 3 March 1808: Havre Island turned over to Saratoga County with no net loss of land.
  • 7 March 1809: Schenectady County set off. From this day Albany County exists in its present shape.


  • Collections on the History of Albany, from its Discovery to the Present Time: with Notices of its Public Institutions, and Biographical Sketches of Citizens Deceased Digital version at Family History Archives

The Family History Library Catalog lists many more books on History in Albany County.

Land and Property

Original land records for Albany County are held in Hall of Records . See New York Land and Property for more information about using land records. The Albany County Clerk allows Online Access to Deeds and Mortgages from 1980 to the present.

Freeholders List for the city and county of Albany for 1720. No further information is available except the name and place.

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Recordshas deeds and leases (1723 to 1898) for Albany city, county deeds (1654-1894), and mortgage records(1752-1980) on microfilm in their Historical Records.

Copies of Original Records

Abstracts

Additional resources for Albany County land and property may be found in the FHLC.

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Albany County for settlers included:[3]

Military

Civil War

Service men in Albany County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed companies formed in Albany County: [4]

- 2nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company H
- 3rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 7th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- 9th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 17th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- 18th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 20th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 22nd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 30th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 34th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 43rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 44th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 61st Regiment, New York Infantry
- 62nd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 63rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 91st Regiment, New York Infantry
- 93rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 104th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 113th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 138th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 148th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 175th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 177th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 179th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 184th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 186th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 188th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 189th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 192nd Regiment, New York Infantry
- 194th Regiment, New York Infantry

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Recordshas Civil War Allotment/Correspondence from 1861 to 1864 on microfilm in their Historical Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Original naturalization records for Albany County are held in the Hall of Records.  See New York Naturalization and Citizenship for more information.

  • Albany County Clerk's Office, Naturalization Indexes online 1821-1991 used to find citizenship records with place of residence and place of origin.
  • Naturalizations after 1991 are located:
    Office of Immigration and Naturalization
    U.S. Post Office and Federal Court House Room 220
    Albany, NY 12207
  • 1895–1906 Naturalization records(includes index, declarations, oaths and orders, and petitions) FHL film 1304706 (first of 8 films)

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records has county Almshouse Records from 1870 to 1947 on microfilm in their Historical Records. These records include deaths, widow and orphan benefits, register of state poor, and interments.

Probate Records

Original estates and wills for Albany County are held in the Surrogate Court. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

Copies of Original Records

Abstracts

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Albany County probates may be found in the New York, Albany – Probate topic page of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Repositories

Some helps for finding Albany County records are:

  • Historical Records, a complete listing of the historical records at the Albany County Hall of Records
  • Guide to Historical Resources in Albany County, New York, Repositories FHLC
  • Guide to Records in the New York State Archives FHLC
  • Inventory of the County Archives of New York, no. 01, Albany County (Albany) FHLC
  • A Sketch of the Life of Horatio Seymour, 1810-1886, with a Detailed Account of his Administration as Governor of the State of New York During the War of 1861-1865 FHLC
  • World Our Fathers Made: a Survey of the Records of Local Governments in the County of Albany, New York, During the Constitutional Era, 1783-1815 FHLC

Archives, Libraries, and Museums

Albany Public Library Main Library
161 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: (518) 427-4300
Call for hours.  Albany History Room hours differ from regular library hours.
Pruyn Collection of Albany History housed in the Albany History Room of the library. Collection includes city directories, newspapers, and census records on film and online.

Guilderland Public Library
2228 Western Avenue
Guilderland, New York 12084-9071
Phone (518)456–2400
Collection includes online databases with surname search, church index, cemetery list and transcriptions and land search.

Nassau Free Library–Genealogy
18 Church Street
Nassau, NY 12123.
(518)766-2715
Ralph Philllips Genealogical Collection. Online database of surnames.

New York State Museum/People of Albany County Live Here
Online collection of articles and pages about Albany County.  Includes biographies of early residents, early laws, military records, county census transcriptions, church records, maps, and will transcriptions.

New York State Archives 
Cultural Education Center
222 Madison Avenue
Albany, NY 12230
Phone: (518) 474-8955
E–mail archref@mail.nysed.gov

New York State Library–Genealogy
Cultural Education Center
222 Madison Avenue
Albany, NY 12230
Phone: (518) 474-5161 Local History/Genealogy desk
Collection includes local histories, DAR records, church records, early newspapers, city directories, surname card files, and vital records.

Rensselaer County Historical Society Library
57 Second Street
Troy, NY 12180
Phone: 518-244-6846
Library, archives and research center.

Rensselaer, New York City History Research Center
Rensselaer City Hall
62 Washington St.
Rensselaer, NY 12144 second floor.
Phone: (518)694-3126
Collection includes city and county histories, directories, newspapers, local family manuscripts, church records, and local society and business records.

Troy Public Library
100 Second Street
Troy, NY 12180
Phone: (518) 274–7071
The Troy Room Collection contains hundreds of books, pamphlets, and other local history and genealogy documents. Works by local authors, Troy City Directories, local newspapers, family histories, and census records are all part of this valuable collection.

Courthouse

Most historical records for Albany County are at the Hall of Records. For further information about where the records for Albany County are held, see the Albany County Courthouse page.

Albany County Hall of Records
95 Tivoli Street
Albany, NY 12207
Phone: 518-436-3663
Fax: 518-436-3678

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist in the study of genealogy.

The FHC for Albany County is located in Albany. Be sure to call and visit their wiki page for hours of service and other information.

Albany New York Family History Center
411 Loudon Rd>
Loudonville, Albany, New York, United States
Phone: 518-463-2566

For additional Family History Center addresses, search this online FHC directory.

Social Groups Online

Rootsweb message board for Albany county has many information threads about families that resided in that county.   There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.

Societies

Taxation

The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Recordshas Tax Rolls for Albany County from 1813 to 1990 in their Historical Records for the following Municipalities: Albany (1813-1990), Berne, Bethlehem, Coeymans, Cohoes, Colonie, Knox, Green Island, Guilderland, New Scotland, Rensselaerville, Watervliet and Westerlo. See the town or city wiki page for details.

Vital Records

Vital Records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. The actual document was then forwarded to the Department of Health in Albany city. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. These clerks are generally faster than the Department of Health in providing the copies of certificates. For instance, if you knew your ancestor died in the Rensselaerville, Albany, New York, in 1862, contacting the town clerk there would be helpful to see if they have records in their ledger book for that time period. Albany births and deaths 1848, births 1866 to present, and deaths 1870 to the present can be obtained for a fee from: Registrar of Vital Statistics. There is a fifty year restriction on death and marriage records, and a seventy-five year restriction on birth records. There is the additional restriction that you prove all parties are dead to obtain a birth or marriage record. The year restrictions are waived for a direct line descendant.Some marriage records may be kept at the Albany County hall of Records from 1870-1946. 

See Gotoarrow.png New York Vital Records for more information about Vital records in New York.

Births

Marriages

Deaths

Divorces

Voting Registers

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Albany County, New York" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albany_County,_New_York (accessed 17 September 2011).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook, 847-61.
  4. Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy.
  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2011, at 13:10.
  • This page has been accessed 873 times.