User:Lembley/sandbox6Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

Collection: England, Derbyshire, Church of England, Church Records, 1538-1910

FamilySearch Record Search This article describes a collection of historical records scheduled to become available at FamilySearch.org.


FamilySearch Record Search This article describes a collection of historical records available at FamilySearch.org.

Coverage

Not all records were available to be included in this collection. Others were excluded due to privacy laws. The parishes and congregations included in this collection, together with the dates of christening, marriages, banns, and burials included, are reflected in the coverage chart. The chart contains information about each included church record in the following format:

Parish    Event Type Years                  FHL film#s (source)                   
Alfreton marr 1772-1894 1041620, 1041621

banns 1772-1812

burials 1813-1881
Ashbourne with christening 1702-1806,1813-1884 1041049, 1041050, 1041051


      Mapleton
marr 1702-1883

banns 1784-1853

burials 1702-1804, 1813-1884

Record Description

The collection consists of Church of England parish registers and non-Conformist church records containing baptisms, marriages, banns, and burials. Date ranges of records vary by parish or congregation. The marriage information may have come from either a marriage record or from a banns of marriage.

For information about parish registers, see England Church Records.

Source

Collection Citation

Sample Citation
Church of England. England, Derbyshire, church records. database and digital images, FamilySearch (https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/1911752). Derbyshire Record Office, Matlock, England.
"Church of England, Parish of Ashbourne. England, Derbyshire Church Records." database and digital images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/VNT5-83K: accessed 5 June 2012), Lucius Edward Mann and Charlotte Heathcote marriage entry, 24 July 1850; citing FHL microfilm 1,041,050; Derbyshire Record Office, Matlock, England.



Church of England. England, Derbyshire, church records. database and digital images, FamilySearch (https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/1911752). Derbyshire Record Office, Matlock, England.

A citation in your own research might look something like the following:

"Church of England, Parish of Ashbourne. England, Derbyshire Church Records." database and digital images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/VNT5-83K: accessed 5 June 2012), Lucius Edward Mann and Charlotte Heathcote marriage entry, 24 July 1850; citing FHL microfilm 1,041,050; Derbyshire Record Office, Matlock, England. 

Record Content

For image examples of parish registers and what they typically contain, see What information can I find in Church of England Records?

How to Use the Record

see How to Use the Record

Why the Record Was Created

see Why the Record Was Created

Record Reliability

Church of England parish registers are one of the most reliable and accurate family history sources before July 1837. Information in parish registers and Bishop's Transcripts can be verified against each other. Names and spellings sometimes vary between Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts. Bishop's Transcripts may also omit years or part of years or may be incomplete according to Diocesan practice and preservation.

Known Issues with This Collection

Important.png Problems with this collection?
See a list of known issues, workarounds, tips, restrictions, future fixes, news and other helpful information.

For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached Wiki article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to support@familysearch.org. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.

Related Websites

Related Wiki Articles

Contributions to This Article

We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. Guidelines are available to help you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide. If you would like to get more involved join the WikiProject FamilySearch Records.

Citation Example for a Record Found in This Collection

"Church of England, Parish of Ashbourne. England, Derbyshire Church Records." database and digital images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/VNT5-83K: accessed 5 June 2012), Lucius Edward Mann and Charlotte Heathcote marriage entry, 24 July 1850; citing FHL microfilm 1,041,050; Derbyshire Record Office, Matlock, England.

  • This page was last modified on 12 June 2012, at 01:48.
  • This page has been accessed 915 times.