User:National Institute sandbox 12GEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

 
National Institute for Genealogical StudiesNational Institute for Genealogical Studies.gif

The original content for this article was contributed by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies in June 2012. It is an excerpt from their course Methodology - Part 1: Getting Started, Methodology - Part 2: Organizing and Skillbuilding, Methodology - Part 3: More Strategies, Methodology - Part 4: Effective Searching and Recording, Methodology - Part 5: How To Prove It, and Methodology - Part 6: Professional Preparation and Practice  by Louise St Denis, Brenda Dougall Merriman and Dr. Penelope Christensen. The Institute offers over 200 comprehensive genealogy courses for a fee ($).

Organizing Your Home Base

Finding Supplies

The local Family History or Genealogy Society usually has a Bookstall with items of general and local interest. They are the best sources for indexes of censuses, parish registers, etc.

The local Archives or Record Office would know of, and often sells, local histories, maps and research guides.

Thrift stores are a great source of inexpensive office supplies such as binders, paper, hanging file folders, bookshelves and lamps.

A wonderful convenience on the Internet for British and other researchers is Family History Books which now incorporates GENFAIR, the online family history fair with a secure credit card facility. Here you will find a huge number of family history societies and commercial suppliers of books, microfiches, software, CDs, FHS memberships, search services etc. Service is fast, 3-10 days from England to B.C., Canada, and it is so convenient for renewing memberships and buying all kinds of genealogical supplies.

See Cyndi's List webpage for her Organizing Your Research section for links to sites providing charts and forms. There is also an article on finding charts and forms online by Cavell. I hope that the list of suppliers in the chart below will be useful in finding other supplies. Send for their free catalogues.

Some Genealogical Suppliers

Name and Address Phone, Website and Email Notes

BURY MEDIA AND SUPPLIES
7363 Wilson Ave.
Delta, BC Canada V4G 1E5

604-431-1964
Email info@rbury.com
Website: Bury Media and Supplies
Distributor for archival and
Canadian government supplies
FAMILYSEARCH CENTERS
everywhere!
See Family Search to find an FSC near you See the Wiki for Research
Guidance
FAMILY TREE MAGAZINE
61 Great Whyte
Ramsey, Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire, England PE26 1HJ
Website: Family Tree
Email: into@family-tree.co.uk
Good bookstore, British
emphasis
FEDERATION OF FAMILY
HISTORY SOCIETIES (FFHS)
See FFHS
Also see GenFair
Own publications plus good
bookstore, British emphasis
FUTURE PACKAGING AND
PRESERVATION

544 East Edna Place
Covina, CA 91723, USA
1-800-786-6627
See Future Packaging and Preservation website.
Archival and preservation
products
GENEALOGY STORE 416-861-0165
1-800-580-0615 (in North America)
Genealogy Store website
Various resource materials,
books, maps, forms, charts,
archival supplies
GLOBAL GENEALOGY
Milton, Ontario, Canada
905-875-1887
1-800-361-5268 (in North America)
See Global Genealogy's website
Books, maps, archival
supplies, CDs; Canadian and US emphasis
HERITAGE PRODUCTIONS
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416-861-0165
1-800-580-0165 (in North America)
See Genealogy Store website
Various resource materials,
books, maps, forms, charts,
archival supplies
ITMP (INTERNATIONAL
TRAVEL MAPS AND BOOKS)

12300 Bridgeport Road
Richmond, BC, Canada V6V 1J5
604-273-1400
Website: ITMB
Hugh map stock
FAMILYSEARCH-FAMILY
HISTORY PRODUCTS
Website: Family Search Products and services that help
with family history
LIGHT IMPRESSIONS 1-800-975-6429
Website: Ligt Impressions
Archival and preservation
products
NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR
GENEALOGICAL STUDIES
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416-861-0165
1-800-580-0615 (in North America)
Email admin@genealogicalstudies.com
Website: National Institute for Genealogical Studies
CWandS PARKINSON
GENEALOGICAL STORAGE

16 Foxhills Close
Ashurst, Southampton, Hampshire
England SO40 7ER
023-8029-3608
Email enquiries@cwsparkinson.co.uk
Website:CWandS Parkinson
Archival products and containers
PHILATELIC BUREAU,
ROYAL MAIL

Tallents House, 21 South Gyle Cres.
Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 9PB
Website: Royal Mail British postage stamps
PHILLIMORE AND CO LTD Website: Phillimore and Co. Publisher and retailer of huge
choice selection of British
genealogy and local history
books
PRESERVATION SOURCE
7642 South Mail Street
Midvale, Utah 84047
801-233-9118
Website: Preservation Source
SECOL LTD.
Howlett Way
Thetford, Norfolk, England IP24
1HZ
01842-752341
Email sales@secol.co.uk
Website: Secol Ltd.
Storage containers for
photographs and printed
materials
SOCIETY OF GENEALOGISTS
14 Charterhouse Bldgs, Goswell Rd.
London, England EC1M 7BA
(020) 7251 8799
Website: Society of Genealogists
Now only sell their own publications.
STEVENSON'S GENEALOGISTS
CENTER

230 West Bulldog Blvd.
Provo, Utah 84604
801-374-9600
Website: Stevenson's Genealogy Center
Inexpensive 8-, 12- and 15-
generation Pedigree charts
BILL COLE ENTERPRISES
P.O. Box 60
Randolph, MA 02368-0060
1-781-986-2653
Website: Bill Cole Enterprises
Archival and preservation
products



___________________________________________________________________


Information in this Wiki page is excerpted from the online courses Methodology - Part 1: Getting Started, Methodology - Part 2: Organizing and Skillbuilding, Methodology - Part 3: More Strategies, Methodology - Part 4: Effective Searching and Recording, Methodology - Part 5: How To Prove It, and Methodology - Part 6: Professional Preparation and Practice offered by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. To learn more about these courses or other courses available from the Institute, see our website. We can be contacted at wiki@genealogicalstudies.com

We welcome updates and additions to this Wiki page.

  • This page was last modified on 22 April 2014, at 21:44.
  • This page has been accessed 798 times.