Utah South Hispanic Family History Center Training ResourcesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki


Page for training information about Hispanic family history for this center.

Contents

Training and Teaching Resources

This is a brief list of some of the resources for teaching and training Hispanic family history research. Spanish speakers should take advantage of some of the resources in English because of the quantity of information available.

Staff Training


These are resources geared toward the family history center staff and family history consultants.

  1. The first source that should be used by a consultant is accessed by registering as a consultant and signing on to consultant.familysearch.org. The individual should select the training classes there and complete them. There are classes in Spanish and the system keeps track of your progress.
  2. Family History Consultant’s Guide to Temple and Family History Work.
  3. LDS Family History Consultant’s Page by Ohana Software. Ohanasoftware.com/?sec=ldswc


Training for Everyone


Here are some helpful resources. There are many more.


  1. Member’s Guide to Temple and Family History. This publication discusses the purpose of family history work in the church, how to begin, where to search for information, and directions about taking names to the temple.
  2. User’s Guide to the New FamilySearch website. The User’s Guide is periodically updated and the Utah South Area Hispanic Family History Center (HFHC) has printed copies in English and Spanish. A download of the most current edition is on some of the computers at the center.
  3. Training provided for the Family Search affiliate software programs is on the websites for the individual programs. The information in Spanish is very limited at this time. They have some good training in English.
  4. FamilySearch. After logging on to FamilySearch.org, go to Learn, then Research Courses, then Latin America. There are seven lessons in Spanish. Select Language, then Spanish for lessons in reading old Spanish script.
  5. Mesa Family History Center. Access the Mesa Arizona Family History Center website at mesarfhc.org, and then, if you wish, select Spanish. This site is a guide to Hispanic websites, various training topics including basic use of the computer, and Hispanic genealogical society websites.
  6. The Family History Library at BYU has a tremendous website to lead anyone in learning “How to…?” and “Where …?” in genealogical research. There are power point presentations as well as video clips. The website is lib.byu.edu/sites/familyhistory/. The training is in English.
  7. There are CDs available from Family Search that give direction in starting and recording family research. The information is in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. “FAMILY HISTORY RESCOURCES – LATIN AMERICA”. Some of the information is out of date.


Research Resources

Here are some of the valuable resources for researching Hispanic ancestry that we know about.

Library Resources


  1. Utah South Area Hispanic Family History Center (HFHC). Our center has notebooks with information in English and Spanish providing guidance in researching all the Latin American countries. We also have books in English that provide guidance in searching for Hispanic ancestors.
  2. Brigham Young University Family History Library in the Harold B. Lee Library, Provo, Utah. This facility has an assortment of blue note books with guidance to search for Hispanic ancestry. Many of the articles are in Spanish. There are also books useful in searching for genealogical information for Latin American countries, Spain, and the Philippines. Many of the books are in Spanish. I understand that this library has the best collection of materials for Hispanic genealogical research than any library in the state.


Internet Resources


  1. FamilySearch.org. Log on to FamilySearch.org. Then search under Records, Trees, Books, and under the previous website, Catalog. In the Catalog, search first under the place. For more resources and instruction regarding finding records in different countries and languages, go to Learn, then Research Wiki, then Spanish, then choose a country of interest to see what is available in Spanish. For all genealogical research, after Research Wiki, go to list all countries and select a country.
  2. script.byu.edu, select “The Spanish Script Tutorial”. The tutorial may be read in either Spanish or English and changed to either language at any time. This site also has the “Records Extraction Guide” that explains information given in the source documents.
  3. Utah South Area Hispanic Family History Center website. This website address is ushfhc.org. (The site is being improved now.)
  4. Centro regional de historia familiar de Mesa Arizona. mesarfhc.org, and then select Spanish. This site is a guide to Hispanic websites, training, and Hispanic genealogical society websites.
  5. Mexican Family History Research. Mexicanfhr.com. This website was developed by Jonathan Walker who offers research services. It has links to Hispanic genealogical websites around the world. It is in English and Spanish.
  6. Nuestrosranchos.com.This is a website for searching genealogy in the states of Jalisco, Zacatecas, and Aguas Calientes, Mexico.
  7. Mexico Genealogy Research Community.(https://www.facebook.com/MexicoGenealogyResearch) This is a Facebook site for those searching for Mexican ancestry. One must open a Facebook account. Spanish or English.
  8. Somosprimos.com. Somos Primos is a site dedicated to issues of Hispanic heritage. It is in English.
  9. Tools for family history. Royert.org/FHall.html



Family History Training

This is a basic outline of what a person needs to do to be productively involved in family history. Depending on a person’s preparation and background, he may jump ahead to any point on this outline that is appropriate.


What do I need to bring to a family history center (FHC) to start working on family history?

  1. A flash (thumb) drive, 1 GB or more.
  2. A copy of your family history genealogical data base program file, if there is one. This will preferably be may be on a flash drive but could be on a floppy disk or CD ROM. Most new computers lack a floppy drive but the center has an external drive that could be used for 3-1/2” disks.
  3. If you do not have a computer file of genealogical data, you need to bring some genealogical data for your family. That could be names of family members with dates and places of birth, death, burial, marriage(s), children, spouses, parents, grandparents, etc. Also, if possible, have the sources for the information. The information should be sorted by family and person to save time. Remember:” Information without sources is unreliable gossip.”
  4. If you are a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints (LDS) and have not registered with New FamilySearch, you should bring a copy of your member’s “Individual Ordinance Summary”. This may be obtained from the ward/branch clerk. This summary will have your membership number, name, and birth and confirmation dates.
  5. An electronic mail address (email). If you do not have an account, obtain a free G-mail account from Google. A staff person could assist with this step.
  6. Be prepared to have a sign-in and password for New FamilySearch (NFS). This applies to both members and non-members. Most non-LDS patrons cannot use NFS at this time, but can use FamilySearch, which is open to all. Family Search encourages all patrons, LDS and non-LDS, to sign in when using FamilySearch in order to see all the information available.
  7. Determine a general and a specific goal for each visit to the FHC.


What if I do not know how to use a computer?

Inform a staff helper of your concerns and experience. Be assured that you won’t harm the computer if you make a mistake. The staff helper can guide you, assist with problems, and provide some instruction in the use of the computer and software. The staff helper will work with you until you become comfortable in the use of the computer, the software, and accessing the internet. Please take the responsibility to learn to use the computer and not request the staff to make the entries for you. It is your responsibility to do the work and you will receive the benefit.
If you desire to receive a more thorough instruction, there is a basic computer class offered by the Utah South Area Family History Training Center. The cost is currently $5.00 for materials. The Training Center is located in the Orem College 3rd Stake building at 1075 South Geneva Road in Orem, Utah. This is on the east side of Geneva Road just north of University Avenue. Registration is done online at http://www.familyhistorytraining.org/basic_computer_class.html . The telephone number is 801-356-9113.


Where do I start?

A staff person would be happy to assist with any of these tasks.


    1. If I use Personal Ancestral File (PAF)?

        a. If the version is older than PAF 5.2, it must be converted to PAF 5.2. The latest version is PAF 5.2.18. The conversion from PAF 3.0 or 4.0 can be made with PAF 5.2. For older PAF versions, it is possible to use a computer at the BYU Family History Library that is kept for that purpose. That computer has a 5-1/4 inch floppy disk drive, a 3-1/2 inch disk drive, a CD ROM drive, and USB ports.
        b. You may continue to use PAF 5.2 by selecting to use either Family Insight or Ancestral Quest to access the NFS data base.

   2. If I use a different genealogical data base program that is not compatible with NFS?

      To determine program compatibility, go to https://www.familysearch.org /products to see the compatible (affiliated) products and their capabilities.

       a. Create a GEDCOM file for use with a program compatible with NFS.
       b. Select a program that is NFS compatible for your use, download the program to your computer, and import the GEDCOM file into the selected new program.
       c. It may be best to use PAF 5 or Ancestral Quest (AQ) as a place to begin. It is easy to go from those programs (as a PAF file) to other NFS compatible programs. PAF may be downloaded free from the FamilySearch website. A basic version of Ancestral Quest, Legacy, and Ancestral Quest (with a Spanish language module) may also be downloaded free. AQ may be found at anquest.com, select “products” and either purchase the full version or download the free “Basics” version.

   3. If I use a different genealogical data base program that is compatible with NFS?

You are ready for the next step.

   4. If I use no genealogical data base program at this time?

You should choose one of the programs compatible with NFS. As a start, select PAF 5 or Ancestral Quest. You may select another program in the future and convert the file to the newly selected program. A staff member can provide information and comparisons about different programs.

Ancestral Quest (AQ) is basically an updated PAF which also has a Spanish language module. The program was developed by the same person who developed the windows version of PAF.

It may be best if you select one of the programs installed on the computers at the family history center. The Utah South Area Hispanic Family History Center (HFHC) has the following data base programs compatible with NFS on its computers: Ancestral Quest, Legacy Family Tree, PAF, Roots Magic and Family Insight.

It is important to use your own database program and not rely on NFS for the primary place for your family history data. You may add to your own genealogical database program; photos, video clips, copies of source materials such as scanned birth records, death certificates, and census records. This is not possible in NFS. Also, there may be some possibly related names you find that don’t fit in your family tree yet. You can put them in your file for incorporating in your family tree when you find the relationship. You may also work offline on your program, whereas with NFS you must be on the internet. Another major reason is that there is already too much unsubstantiated and incorrect genealogical “garbage” on the NFS.

It is also important to validate the information before you add it to the system. Another important reason for using your own genealogical database program is that you may include living people. NFS does not search for living people and this produces duplicate people in the system, thus if a living person is added, a duplicate will be created each time the name is added.

Beginning steps

The staff is happy to assist you with any of these steps.

  1. If not registered with NFS, register now.
  2. Open NFS and review the information there for you and your family.
  3. Correct the Summary information, if needed.
  4. Open your file in your chosen genealogy program. If you have no file yet, create a new file and add yourself, your family and living ancestors.

Getting into the programs

The staff is happy to assist with any of these steps.

   1. For LDS patrons:
       a. Download the NFS data into your program file. Downloads may require a lot of time if there are many people of your family on NFS. If only a few, it would be fine to select 5 generations of ancestors and  2 of descendants with spouses and children. If there are a lot of relatives on NFS for the person selected, it would be best to select perhaps 2 or 3 generations of ancestors with spouses and children as a point of beginning.
      b. Synchronize the individuals with NFS and bring the information from NFS into your file. Pay attention to data in NFS that is obviously in error, such as children born before parents and children born after their mother’s death. If desired, these people may be added to your file with notes that the error(s) need to be resolved. The error may be the dates or it may be that the individual does not belong in that family.
      c. You need to be aware that names of living people should not be added to NFS. They are to be retained on your own genealogical data base program.
      d. Determine if there are any temple ordinances that can be done now.
      e. Learn how to obtain a “Family Ordinance Request” (FOR) to take to the temple.
      f. Clean up the NFS data on your line to the extent possible. This includes combining duplicate persons and separating erroneously combined persons.

   2. For non-LDS patrons and LDS patrons
      a. Investigate the possibility of obtaining information from family members.
      b. Become familiar with FamilySearch, FamilySearch Wiki, and other useful internet sites and search engines such as Google and Yahoo. FamilySearch has information added from the indexing program so it grows by more than a million names a month. NFS does not have the same database. That means, in searching for information, a search in FamilySearch one week may not find the information but a week later it might be there. See list of source sites that could be used to find information and people.
      c. In all genealogical research investigation it is extremely important to determine the location of events in the lives of your ancestors and to learn about the history at those locations at the time of the ancestor being researched.
      d. If there are more people to enter in the program being used, complete adding those to the data base.
      e. To find ancestors and their families, you may follow the suggestions on the source sheets prepared by the HFHC.





 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 November 2012, at 22:15.
  • This page has been accessed 557 times.