Utrecht GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Utrecht, The Netherlands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
For Geographical and Historical information see: Utrecht
The capital city of Utrecht is Utrecht. See: Utrecht (City)
Utrecht is a province in the middle of the Netherlands. It borders on Gelderland in the east, Gelderland and Zuid-Holland in the south, Zuid-Holland and Noord-Holland in the west and Noor
d-Holland and Flevoland in the north.
The capital city of Utrecht is called Utrecht as well. Other larger towns are:
Did you know?
(Add text and/or an image here)
Genealogy in Utrecht
There were no particular naming traditions in Utrecht that researchers have to take into account. People used regular last names long before the introduction of the civil registration.
Emigration from Utrecht
People in Utrecht were relatively well-to-do so the province wasn’t particularly struck by any of the big emigration waves. There were quite a few entrepreneurs in the province, so there have been people who emigrated to newly founded colonies or tradeposts all over the world. In the middle of the 19th century, Utrecht members of the seceder church settled in Pella, Iowa.
(Your text or images here)
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
Things you can do
(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 24 July 2015, at 20:04.
- This page has been accessed 1,339 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News