Uttoxeter, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Uttoxeter, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter St Mary Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Uttoxeter PLU
Registration District Uttoxeter
Records begin
Parish registers: 1596
Bishop's Transcripts: 1668
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Uttoxeter
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Uttoxeter St Mary is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Woodgate, Crackmarsh, Crakemarsh, Creighton with Stramshall, Uttoxeter Woodlands, Loxley, Spath, Stramshall with Creighton, Uttoxeter Proper, and Little Bramshall. UTTOXETER (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 15 miles (N. E. by E.) from Stafford, and 136 (N. W. by N.) from London.  The town contains places of worship for Independents, the Society of Friends, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Uttoxeter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
UTTOXETER PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1596-1901 1596-1901 1596-1900 1596-1900 1596-1901 1596-1901
FREG 1768-1880
1777-1892
1678-1713, 1768-1902
FS 1668-1856
1668-1856

NBI

1538-1887

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1596-1958 Mar 1596-1958 Bur 1596-1973
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1668-1858 Mar 1668-1858 Bur 1668-1858 Missing Marr 1837-1838

Uttoxeter Quaker registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

UTTOXETER QUAKER Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1795-1837
NBI

1632-1795

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474631.

Poor Law Unions

Uttoxeter Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Uttoxeter/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 424-428. Date accessed: 07 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 14:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,900 times.