Uvalde County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties UV
Uvalde County
Guide to Uvalde County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Uvalde County Courthouse
PO Box 284
Uvalde, TX 78802
Phone: 830.278.6614
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probate, Courth, and land records from 1856; District Clerk has divorce records[1]
Uvalde County has been home to five courthouses.[2] The first courthouse was completed in May 1857, with the first floor of the building housing the courthouse and jail, in rooms with 9' tall ceilings. The second floor, used for county offices had ceilings that were 5' tall at the eves.[3] The 1870 courthouse was a cypress wood frame building. A fourth courthouse was built in 1877. In 1890, an ornate Second Empire style courthouse topped with a clock tower and lightning rods was built. In 1927, the construction began on the current courthouse, shown at right, a brick and concrete structure. The building is a Recorded Texas Landmark. [4]
Uvalde County Courthouse
Ramona Hobbs, County Clerk
Corner of Main (U.S. 90) and Getty
P.O. Box 284
Uvalde, Texas 78802-0284
(830) 278-6614
Uvalde County Government Website
Inventory of the county archives of Texas : Uvalde County, no. 232, 1941. Historical Records Survey. Inventory of records housed in the Uvalde County Courthouse as of 1936-1937. Digital book on line at the Portal to Texas History.
History
The first Anglo-American settlers arrived in 1852. The name Uvalde was originally known as "Ugalde".
Parent County
1850--Uvalde County was created 8 February 1850 from Bexar county. Uvalde County was organized in February 1856. County seat: Encina, renamed Uvalde in 1856. [5] [6]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Knippa | Sabinal | Utopia | Uvalde | Uvalde Estates
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Uvalde County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Oldtimers: Frontier Days in the Uvalde Section of Southwest Texas, 1939, by Florence Fenley.
- A Proud Heritage: A History of Uvalde County, 1975.
- Uvalde County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
Maps
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Uvalde County, Texas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Uvalde County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Uvalde County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Uvalde County Births - How to Get a Birth Record
- Uvalde County Marriages - How to Get a Marriage Record
- Uvalde County Deaths - How to Get a Death Record
- Texas Deaths, 1890-1976 (FamilySearch) - The index was created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903 and in many counties prior to 1910. Fold3.com also has Texas Deaths, 1890-1976 ($) available online.
- Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch) - Index to Texas statewide death certificates covering 4 million deaths since 1964.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Uvalde County, Texas. Page 675 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ HistoricTexas.net: Uvalde County http://www3.historictexas.net/uvalde-county-texas
- ↑ Inventory of the county archives of Texas : Uvalde County, no. 232, Book, May 1941
- ↑ Historical Marker: Uvalde County Courthouse, located at the corner of Main (Hwy 90) and Getty, Uvalde.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online: Uvalde County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcu03
| This Texas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 May 2013, at 00:52.
- This page has been accessed 1,806 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
