Uxbridge St AndrewEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Uxbridge St Andrew, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Uxbridge St Andrew
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Uxbridge PLU
Registration District Uxbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

UXBRIDGE, a market-town and chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parish of Hillingdon, hundred of Elthorne, county of Middlesex, 15 miles (W. by N.) from London with the district of Uxbridge-Moor. The most ancient name of this place was Oxebreuge, or Woxbrigge, which afterwards passed through the several variations of Waxbridge, Woxbridge, and Oxbridge, whence its present name. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, and Independents.[1]

Additional information:

Uxbridge St Andrew. Uxbridge, a district church or chapel of ease, was established by the year 1865 and lies within the civil parish boundaries of Uxbridge St Mary.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Uxbridge St Andrew Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Indexes 1865-1876 BritishOrigins[2]
Unknown findmypast[3]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438774.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Uxbridge St Andrew in Hillingdon on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of Englan, (1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.
  2. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  3. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,580 times.