Val Verde County, TexasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Texas go to Counties UV go to Val Verde County

Guide to Val Verde County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records

Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Val Verde County Courthouse
PO Box 1267
Del Rio, TX 78841-1267
Phone: 830.774.7564 

County Clerk has marriage, land, probate, military
and court records from 1885; District Clerk has divorce
records[1]

History

The first settlement was in 1808 by a Mexican Priest. The first Anglo-American settlement was established in 1868.

Parent County

1885--Val Verde County was created 20 February 1885 from Kinney, Crockett, and Pecos Counties. County seat: Del Rio [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Del Rio | Juno | Langtry | Loma Alta| Pandale | Pumpville| Sharp

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Val Verde County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txvalverde.jpg Val Verde County 1910 Map from the Val Verde County TXGenWeb site.

Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site

Military

1890 U.S. Census of Veterans and Widows, Val Verde County Val Verde Co. TXGenWeb site

1920 Census for Army Camp Del Rio Val Verde Co TXGenWeb site

Val Verde Co TX Casualties of World War II Val Verde Co TXGenWeb site

Val Verde Co TX Vietnam War Casualites Val Verde Co TXGenWeb site

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Val Verde County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Del Rio News-Herald

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records


A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
    Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by Family Search and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Val Verde County Historical Commission
P.O. Box 421806
Del Rio, TX 78842-1806
830-734-2124

Val Verde County Library
300 Spring St
Del Rio, TX 78840
830-774-7595

Whitehead Memorial Museum

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Val Verde County, Texas. Page 675 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:36.
  • This page has been accessed 5,579 times.