Valencia County, New MexicoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Valencia County

Guide to Valencia County New Mexico genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New Mexico_Online_Genealogy_Records New Mexico
Online Records


Valencia County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 22, 1846
County Seat Los Lunas
Courthouse
Address Valencia County Courthouse
444 Luna Ave; PO Box 1119
Los Lunas, NM 87031-1119
Phone: 505.866.2073
Valencia County Website
Nm-valencia.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Valencia County Courthouse
444 Luna Ave; PO Box 1119
Los Lunas, NM 87031-1119
Phone: 505.866.2073 

County Clerk has marriage records from 1865 and probate records from 1900; District Court Clerk has divorce and court records.[1]

History

Parent County

  • Until 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • In 1821Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
  • 22 September 1846 - Valencia County was created based on an old Mexican government partido  as one of seven original New Mexico counties under Kearny Code of laws for the occupied Mexican territory.[2] Code named after General Stephen W. Kearny
  • 1848 - Valencia county formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended in 1848 with the signing of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
Valencia and other counties in New Mexico Territory in 1852.

Boundary Changes

  • 9 January 1852 - All New Mexico counties were redefined. Valencia county was extended west to the California border including land in present day Arizona and Nevada.[3] [4] [5] Residents living far from the county seat, probably didn't send many records to the county offices.
  • 24 February 1863 Arizona Territory created from the western half of New Mexico Territory.[6] Valencia County reduced in size to that portion still within New Mexico Territory.
  • 16 March 1903 - VALENCIA county lost land to creation of LEONARD WOOD county (now GUADALUPE county). [7]
  • 1 January 1905 - VALENCIA county lost land to the creation of TORRANCE county. [8]
  • 17 March 1981 Valencia county lost the westernmost four-fifths to the creation of Cibola County, New Mexico.[9]

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

See also Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona for further details. 

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Valencia County, New Mexico census records online, see: New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

Bluewater and Ramah Wards were originally within Valencia county. But in 1894, Ramah was placed in the new county of McKinley. Then in 1981, Bluewater was placed in the new county of Cibola.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Land Records are located at the County Clerks Office of Valencia County NM

Most of the land in New Mexico was originally obtained from the US federal government by a patent. These General Land Office Records are searchable online and most have free images of patents to download. The minimum information needed for a search is the state where the land is located and the name of the person receiving the patent. Surveys and Land Status Records can also be searched here.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Valencia County, New Mexico. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps

thmb
1895 map of Valevcia county, New Mexico

Military

Newspapers

Finding More New Mexico Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Valencia County, New Mexico newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.

Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office

Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court

Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.

See also How to order New Mexico Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for New Mexico Birth Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

New Mexico, County Death Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of New Mexico Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Valencia County, New Mexico page 475, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Courts and Judicial Powers, Sec. 5” Kearny Code: Laws for the Government of the Territory of New Mexico, September 22, 1846 (Santa Fe, N. Mex.: S. W. Kearny, 1846), 47. Digital online edition.
  3. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 291
  4. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  5. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  6. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, pp. 664-665; Van Zandt, 165
  7. N.M. Terr. Laws 1903, 35th assy., ch. 69/pp. 127-131
  8. N.M. Terr. Laws 1903, 35th assy., ch. 70/pp. 132-134
  9. N.M. Laws 1981, 35th reg. sess., ch. 24/pp. 76-80

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:36.
  • This page has been accessed 5,735 times.