Van Buren County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Van Buren County

Guide to Van Buren County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Van Buren County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Van Buren County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Keosaugua
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

History

Martin Van Buren.JPG

The county is named after President Martin Van Buren (1782-1862) who served as United States Vice President at the time of the county's formation.[1]

Parent County

1836--Van Buren County was created 7 December 1836 from Des Moines County. County seat:  Keosauqua [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Biography

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Davis • Henry • Lee • Jefferson • Wapello • Clark County, Missouri • Scotland County, Missouri

Van Buren CountyDavis CountyWapello CountyJefferson CountyHenry CountyLee CountyAppanoose CountyMonroe CountyMahaska CountyKeokuk CountyWashington CountyLouisa CountyDes Moines CountyHancock CountyHenderson CountyClark CountyScotland CountySchuyler CountyPutnam CountyAdair CountyKnox CountyIAVan Buren.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Keosauqua
  • Van Buren
Lutheran
  • Records of the Zion Lutheran Church, Douds, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Van Buren County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Van Buren county By American Legion. Van Buren County Post (Iowa). Farmington, Ia. : T. L. Keith, 1940. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • Van Buren County inventory of historical places. By Van Buren County Bicentennial Committee. [Keosauqua, Iowa?] : Van Buren County Bicentennial Committee, 1977. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Van Buren County, Iowa for European settlers included:

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Van Buren County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Van Buren County, Iowa:


- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Companies B, D, G and H
- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies H and I
- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company D
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H
:- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Van Buren - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records 

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. "Martin Van Buren," Wikipedia.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 December 2014, at 18:55.
  • This page has been accessed 5,154 times.