Vance County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  North Carolina  go to  Vance County

Guide to Vance County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Vance County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Vance County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1881
County Seat Henderson
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Vance Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Vance County Courthouse
122 Young St Suite F
Henderson, NC 27536
Phone: 252-438-4155

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records
Register of Deeds has marrriage and land[1]

History

The county was formed in 1881 from parts of Franklin County, Granville County, and Warren County. According to the 1955 book, Zeb's Black Baby, by Samuel Thomas Peace Sr., "The formation of Vance County was accomplished largely as a political expediency. It was in 1881 when Blacks in large numbers were voting solidly Republican. Granville and Franklin Counties were nip and tuck, Democratic or Republican. From the Democratic standpoint, Warren County was hopelessly Republican. But by taking from Granville, Franklin and Warren, those sections that were heavily Republican and out of these sections forming the new county of Vance, the Democratic party could lose Vance to the Republicans and save Granville and Franklin for the Democrats (see gerrymandering). [U.S.] Senator [Zebulon Baird] Vance was a Democrat. He took kindly to this move and thanked the [North Carolina] Legislature for honoring him with naming the new county after him. At the same time Vance showed his humor by always referring to Vance County as 'Zeb's Black Baby.'  In the 1890 Census, Vance County was more than 63 percent African American.

Formation and Naming of Vance County

Vance County Quick Facts

Henderson in the 1920s

Parent County

1881--Vance County was created from Granville, Warren, and Franklin Counties.
County seat: Henderson [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncvance.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Vance County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Church of England
  • St. John's Parish, Williamsboro, N.C. Historical church building, established 1746, church building completed in 1773.

Court

Vance County's Court system is the District 9 jurisdiction. More information about their Court system can be found on their website.
Vance County District Court
156 Church St., Suite 101
Henderson, NC 27536
252-738-9000

Land

The Vance County Register of Deeds maintains land records back to the formation of the County in 1881. You will want to contact them for more details on how to obtain copies of these records.
Vance County Register of Deeds
122 Young Street, Suite F
Henderson, NC 27536
Phone: 252-738-2110


There is a searchable online database for land records dating back to 1881 available here:

Land Records

Local Histories

Maps

  • North Carolina Maps,  collaborative digitization project by the North Carolina State Archives, the Outer Banks History Center, and the University Library at UNC-Chapel Hill.
  • NC Vance: Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.


The following sites have Vance County military pages:

Newspapers

The Daily Dispatch (Henderson, NC)

Probate

Wills and Estate Records are maintained by the County Clerk of the Superior Court. Copies may be obtained by contacting their office at the following:

Vance County Clerk of the Court
156 Church St., Suite 101
Henderson, NC 27536
252-738-9000


The following online sites have indexed lists of the Will Books:


There are transcribed copies of Vance County Wills below:


1881-1916 - Will Books A and B (1881-1916) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.

North Carolina Estate Files 1663-1964

A free Master Index to All of the North Carolina Estate Files with direct links to the files can be accessed here:

www.ncgenealogy.org/menu-resources/loose-estates-index

Taxation

Vital Records

Vance County has a number of marriage records missing, reason unknown.  They have Marriage Registers that cover 1881-1962; Marriage Licenses for 1897, 1902, 1911-1968; there is an Index to the Marriage Register, 1963-1969.

North Carolina began requiring Birth and Death records in 1913; there are a number of Delayed Birth Certificates that were filed by those born prior to that date, and there are a few Death Certificates that go back as far as 1909.

Copies of Birth, Death and Marriage records can be obtained from the Register of Deeds office.

           Vance County Register of Deeds
           122 Young Street, Suite F
           Henderson, NC 27536
           Phone: 252-738-2110


There are Birth, Marriage and Death records for Vance County on a few places online, the following databases are free:

Societies and Libraries 

Vance County has an active Historical Society and a new Genealogical Society which is an offshoot of the Historical Society.

H. Leslie Perry Memorial Library

Family History Centers

Web Sites


Yearbooks


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vance County, North Carolina. Page 513 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 10,574 times.