Vanderburgh County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Vanderburgh County

Guide to Vanderburgh County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records


Vanderburgh County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 7, 1818
County Seat Evansville
Courthouse
Address Vanderburgh County Courthouse
Circle Center Courts Bldg Rm 216
PO Box 216
Evansville, IN 47732
Phone: 812.435.5160 County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

TABLE 10

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1818*
1882*
1818
1821
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries



Neighboring Counties

Warrick  • Gibson  • Posey  • Howard

Knox CountyGibson CountyPosey CountyDaviess CountyHenderson CountyHopkins CountyUnion CountyEdwards CountyWabash CountyLawrence CountyRichland CountyWebster CountyWayne CountyWhite CountyHardin CountyGallatin CountySaline CountyMcLean CountyPike CountySpencer CountyDaviess CountyDubois CountyVanderburgh CountyWarrick CountyINVanderburgh.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Vanderburgh County, Indiana Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Census Records

For tips on accessing Vanderburgh County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

  • Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Vanderburgh County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)

Cemeteries

Locust Hill Cemetery, Evansville BillionGraves

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

Catholic

Assumption Parish, Evansville

Holy Trinity Parish, Evansville

St. Boniface Parish, Evansville

Sacred Heart Parish, Evansville

Church of Christ

St. John's United Church of Christ, Evansville

St. Lucas United Church of Christ, Evansville

St. Paul's United Church of Christ, Evansville

St. Peter's United Church of Christ, Evansville

Salem United Church of Christ, Evansville

Zoar United Church of Christ, Evansville

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Evansville
Methodist

Bethlehem Methodist Episcopal Church, Evansville

Salem United Methodist Church, Evansville

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vanderburgh County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and religious Groups

Gazetteers

Histories

Local Histories
  • Gilbert, Frank M., and Bettie Anne Cook. History of the City of Evansville and Vanderburg[H] County, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind. (21 1st Ave., Evansville 47710): Tri-State Genealogical Society, 1988.) 977.233 H2h FHL US/CAN Book  FHL Collectionother libraries
  • Elliott, Joseph P. A History of Evansville and Vanderburgh County, Indiana; A Complete and Concise Account from the Earliest Times to the Present, Embracing Reminiscences of the Pioneers and Biographical Sketches. (Evansville, Ind: Keller Print. Co, 1970.)FHL US/CAN Film 1320644 Item 2FHL Collection other libraries Google booksFamilySearch Books Online

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vanderburgh County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Migration

Military Records

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Vermillion County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Vermillion County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History" Chapter 18 and "Military Orders" Chapter 21 in Elliott, Joseph P. A History of Evansville and Vanderburgh County, Indiana; A Complete and Concise Account from the Earliest Times to the Present, Embracing Reminiscences of the Pioneers and Biographical Sketches. (Evansville, Ind: Keller Print. Co, 1970.)FHL US/CAN Film 1320644 Item 2FHL Collection other librariesGoogle books FamilySearch Books Online
  • "The Great Civil War" in "Military History" Chapter 21 of Gilbert, Frank M., and Bettie Anne Cook. History of the City of Evansville and Vanderburg[H] County, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind. (21 1st Ave., Evansville 47710): Tri-State Genealogical Society, 1988.), (page 282-310, Regiment, Companies), 977.233 H2h FHL US/CAN BookFHL Collection other libraries vol.1INTERNET ARCHIVE vol.2INTERNET;ACHIVE

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • Evansville Argus - African-American newspaper published from June 25, 1938 to October 22, 1943. The Editor and founder of the Evansville Argus Publishing Company was J. Wendell Holder. The David Rice Library at the University of Evansville has digital issues of (almost) the full run available freely online.

Obituaries

Occupations

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vanderburgh County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voting Registrations

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Vanderburgh County Courthouse
Circle Center Courts Bldg Rm 216
PO Box 216
Evansville, IN 47732
Phone: 812.435.5160

County Clerk has marriage records from 1916,
divorce records from 1969, probate records from 1850and court records from 1877.
County Health Departmet has birth and death records from 1882.
County Recorder has land records from 1818
and military records from 1865.
Willard Library has many of the older records. [4]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Vanderburgh County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries
  • Willard Library is the principal local-history library in the Evansville area. It is located at 21 First Avenue, Evansville, Indiana 47710. Phone is 812-425-4309.  It has extensive family-history collections for the area.
  • The Evansville Public Library is at 200 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Evansville, Indiana 47713. Phone 812-428-8200.
Societies

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vanderburgh County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Vanderburgh County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Vanderburgh County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vanderburgh County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vanderburgh County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Vanderburgh County, Indiana Web Sites


Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Vanderburgh County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vanderburgh_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14 3.15 3.16 3.17 3.18 3.19 3.20 3.21 3.22 3.23 3.24 3.25 3.26 3.27 3.28 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vandeburgh County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 April 2014, at 15:25.
  • This page has been accessed 12,735 times.