Venezuela GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
South America Venezuela
Guide to Venezuela ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Venezuela is located in Northern South America, bordering the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, between Colombia and Guyana.
Venezuela was one of three countries that emerged from the collapse of Gran Colombia in 1830 (the others being Ecuador and New Granada, which became Colombia).
Getting started with Venezuelan research
Si usted entiende español
Le invitamos a buscar información en español en la página de Venezuela en el wiki de FamilySearch español. También le invitamos a compartir información útil allí. Véase el enlace en la parte inferior de la página.
23 states (estados, singular - estado), 1 federal district (distrito federal), and 1 federal dependency (dependencia federal):
Note: The federal dependency consists of 11 federally controlled island groups with a total of 72 individual islands.
- Parishes of Venezuela
- BYU Research Outline for Venezuela
- Listing of all records collections for Venezuela available on FamilySearch.org
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - Venezuela
A wiki article describing this collection is found at:
- Venezuela Catholic Church Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Venezuela, Archdiocese of Mérida, Catholic Church Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Venezuela Civil Registration (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Venezuela Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)
See FamilySearch Tutorials on Latin American Research.
Did you know?
- Venezuela is officially called: Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.
- Venezuela is divided into 23 states and 1 capital district. Each state is further divided into more than 300 municipios . To learn more click here. To find address and other contact information visit: http://www.gobiernoenlinea.ve/directorioestado/Registros Civiles de Venezuela Knowing about a country's political divisions will help in determining where records such as civil registrationand census are located.
Help with the Venezuela Wiki pages
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:
- Expand county articles
- Check links on pages
- ...and more
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 17:22.
- This page has been accessed 30,195 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News