Vermilion Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Louisiana
Vermilion Parish
Guide to Vermilion Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Vermilion Parish, Louisiana | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Louisiana | |||||||||
![]() Location of Louisiana in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | March 25, 1844 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Abbeville | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Address | 100 N State St. Abbeville, LA 70510 About the Courthouse (Vermilion Parish Clerk of Court Website) | ||||||||
| Website: vermilion.org | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
Parish Courthouse
Vermilion Parish Courthouse
100 N State Street PO Box 790;
Abbeville, LA 70510
Phone: 337.898.1992
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce,
probate, court and land records from 1885.[1]
History
Parent Parish
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Vermilion Parish boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
Resources
African American
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemeteries
- LA Tombstone Transcription Project ~ partial records and photos ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Interment.net ~ LA cemetery records by county
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
- FindaGrave.com ~ cemetery records with search by cemetery, by surname
Census
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1900 | 20,705 | ||
| 1910 | 26,390 | 27.5% | |
| 1920 | 26,482 | 0.3% | |
| 1930 | 33,684 | 27.2% | |
| 1940 | 37,750 | 12.1% | |
| 1950 | 36,929 | −2.2% | |
| 1960 | 38,855 | 5.2% | |
| 1970 | 43,071 | 10.9% | |
| 1980 | 48,458 | 12.5% | |
| 1990 | 50,055 | 3.3% | |
| 2000 | 53,807 | 7.5% | |
| Est. 2006 | 56,021 | [2] | 4.1% |
| Vermilion Parish Census Data[3] | |||
- Louisiana Census Images ~ USGenWeb Census Images Project
Church
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- USGW Digital Map Collection ~ USGenWeb Project
Military
Louisiana Military History Online
Newspapers
- Louisiana Newspaper List ~ listing by name/parish ~ USNPL
- Louisiana Newspaper ~ listing ~ Newslink
Probate
Louisiana Probate Records ~ information on.
Taxation
Vital Records
Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Websites
- LAGenWeb - Louisiana State Records
- USGenWeb ~ Records, Maps, Archives and Other Projects
- Louisiana Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Vermilion Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Vermillion Parish, Louisiana p 293 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Vermilion Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22113.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 March 2013, at 00:17.
- This page has been accessed 1,982 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



