Vermillion County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Vermillion County

Guide to Vermillion County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Vermillion County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 2, 1824
County Seat Newport
Courthouse
Address Vermillion County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Newport, IN 47966-0008
Phone: 765.492.3500&
County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1824*
1882*
——
——
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 2 January 1824 from Parke County.[1]
  • County Seat: Newport [2]



Neighboring Counties

Vigo  • Parke  • Fountain  • Warren  • Vermilion  • Edgar


Putnam CountyMontgomery CountyParke CountyFountain CountyWarren CountyLivingston CountyClark CountyPiatt CountyMoultrie CountyColes CountyDouglas CountyChampaign CountyBenton CountyFord CountyEdgar CountyVermilion CountyIroquois CountyTippecanoe CountyOwen CountyVigo CountyClay CountyVermillion CountyINVermillion.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Vermillion County, Indiana Resources

Bible Records

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Vermillion County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vermillion County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

History

Local Histories
  • B.F. Bowen & Co. History of Parke and Vermillion Counties, Indiana: With Historical Sketches of Representative Citizens and Genealogical Records of Many of the Old Families. (Indianapolis: B.F. Bowen, 1913.) 977.2 H2hpv FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Biographical and Historical Record of Vermillion County, Indiana: Containing Portraits of All the Presidents of the United States from Washington to Cleveland, with Accompanying Biographies of Each: a Condensed History of the State of Indiana: Portraits and Biographies of Some of the Prominent Men of the State: Engravings of Prominent Citizens in Vermillion County, with Personal Histories of Many of the Leading Families, and a Concise History of the County and Its Villages. (La Crosse, Wis: Brookhaven Press, 2002.)    other libraries  INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents. 


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vermillion County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Migration

Military

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 Vermillion County, Indiana (Source:Internet Archive)
  • Revolutionary War 1775-1783
  1. Revolutionary War Soldiers of Vermillion County (Source: Wabash Valley Visions & Voices)

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Vermillion County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Vermillion County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History Of Vermillion County" Chapter 6 in B.F. Bowen & Co. History of Parke and Vermillion Counties, Indiana: With Historical Sketches of Representative Citizens and Genealogical Records of Many of the Old Families. (Indianapolis: B.F. Bowen, 1913 ), (page 268-288, Regiment, Companies; "Knight Of The Golden Circle", page 272; Soldier's Diary, Page 283-288),977.2 H2hpv FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • World War I 1914-1918
  1. Men and Women who Died in the Service of the United States and the Allied Nations in the World War 1914-1918 (Source: Genealogy Trails History Group)
  2. World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 Vermillion County (Source: Explore Ancestry. com ) ($)
  • World War II 1941-1945
  1. Vermillion County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vermillion County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

Voting Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives

County Courthouse

Vermillion County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Newport, IN 47966-0008
Phone: 765.492.3500&

County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1824
County Recorder has land records. [3]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vermillion County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Vermillion County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Vermillion County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vermillion County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Vermillion County, Indiana Web Sites

Places

Vermillion County, Indiana References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Vermillion County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vermillion_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermillion County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:00.
  • This page has been accessed 10,983 times.